Stuart Clark backs this player to become Australia’s captain again


Since the end of the ban, it has been a wonderful one and a half year for Australia’s premium batsman Steve Smith. He has smashed the record books and scored runs consistently in all three formats of the game. He was one of the prime reasons for Australia being able to retain the Ashes last year.


With slowly getting back at his very best, Smith might be aiming to lead Australia one day again. However, it would be as complicated as it could be as the Cricket Australia (CA) president earlier informed that Smith and Warner can never captain Australia again.

Meanwhile, former Australia fast bowler Stuart Clark, who was also the boss of the Sydney Sixers in the first year of the Big Bash League insisted that he wants to see Smith as the captain of Australia again.

“Steve has always had such good leadership qualities, he’s such a student of the game and it became very clear early why he would be a good leader. He’s been a great leader since he was a kid. I’d love to see him captain Australia again. Whether he does or not will be up to Cricket Australia. But if he got the opportunity again he would thrive,” he said.

Read More:

Smith went on to lead the Sydney Sixers to victory in the final against Perth. He is playing the tournament for the first time since  2014. He now hopes to end the tournament with a victory in the final on Saturday at the SCG.


The dynamic batsman also went back to the past and talked about his experience during the first season of the BBL.

“To be able to play in a domestic tournament in front of sell-out crowds, plenty of people watching on TV, lots of pressure moments, that really helped me that first year. And to captain that side when Brad Haddin wasn’t there, it was pretty special as well and taught me a lot.”

“I really enjoy playing with the Sixers, and hopefully we can have some more success on Saturday,” Smith said.

However, the final is under threat due to bad weather conditions. If the game is washed out then Sydney Sixers will be crowned champions as they finished second in the points table.