Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting set to lead teams in Bushfire Bash

adam-gilchrist and ricky ponting bushfire.jppeg

The rescheduling of the Bushfire Cricket Bash has forced a lot of changes as the game is now set to be played on Sunday at Melbourne’s Junction Oval. It has been confirmed that former Australian players and legendary duo Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist will lead their respective sides. Gilchrist will lead the side in place of Shane Warne, who was set to lead his side.

bushfire-bash-shifted-to-melbourneShane Warne will now unable to take part in the game because of his prior commitments while former Australia Australia cricketers Michael Clarke and Michael Hussey as well as a number of the female stars, who were set to play, will also not be able to part of the game. Meanwhile, former India batsman and master blaster of the Sachin Tendulkar will attend as coach of the Ponting XI, while West Indies fast bowling great Courtney Walsh will coach the Gilchrist XI.

The Bushfire Cricket Bash ill be a 10-overs-per-side contest, with a five-over Powerplay, no bowling restrictions, and batters unable to get out from the first ball they face. Bowlers will not have over limits, fielders can sub on and off as it suits, while captains will have the ability to sub batters in and out during an innings.adam-gilchrist and ricky ponting

The match was set to held on Saturday in Sydney. But Sydney’s forecast wet weather forced Cricket Australia (CA) to reschedule the game to ensure the best possible pitch and outfield conditions are available for the game.

However, despite the match getting rescheduled from Sydney, there will be an event there as well. The Saturday night in Sydney will still be a fundraising opportunity, with all match profits and funds raised at the BBL final going to the Australian Red Cross Disaster Relief and Recovery Fund.

Players signed up for the Bushfire Cricket Bash:

Ricky Ponting (c), Adam Gilchrist (c), Brian Lara, Yuvraj Singh, Wasim Akram, Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Alex Blackwell, Dan Christian, Nick Riewoldt, Elyse Villani, Luke Hodge, Cam Smith.