Scotland Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Scotland Squad for T20 World Cup

Cricket Scotland has already announced Scotland’s 15-man squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, whose command has been handed over to Richie Berrington. Experienced players like Michael Jones and Brad Wheal have also returned to the squad. They have qualified for the first time in the history of T20 World Cup.

Experienced fast bowler Josh Davey has not been given a chance in Scotland squad due to his unavailability. Josh Davey is one of the experienced players for Scotland, having played in the T20 World Cup for his team in 2016, 2021 and 2022. He also took 9 wickets in the 2021 T20 World Cup at an excellent average of 13.66. Scotland will certainly miss him, as he has been a consistent performer for their team over the years. 

Also Read: Uganda squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Apart from Davy, batsman Andrew Umeed, who played with him in the Somerset team, also did not make himself available for selection in the T20 World Cup team. Although Umeed has not been able to debut for Scotland in T20 cricket yet, he has performed very well in List-A cricket. If he had been available for selection, he would definitely have got a chance in the squad as an opening batsman. 

Scotland is in Group B

Scotland has been placed in Group B in the T20 World Cup 2024. In this group, there are teams like England, Australia, Namibia and Oman. In this tournament, Scotland has to play matches against England on 4th June, against Namibia on 6th June, against Oman on 9th June and against Australia on 15th June. After the end of the group stage, the teams finishing in the top 2 in the points table will get a chance to move ahead. 

The countries that have declared their squads for the T20 World Cup have time till May 25 to make changes. After this, if there is any change for any reason then it will require approval from the ICC Technical Committee.

Scotland squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 

Richie Berrington (c), Brad Currie, Oli Hairs, Jack Jarvis, Michael Jones,  Michael Leask, Brandon McMullen, Chris Greaves, Safyaan Sharif, Matthew Cross, Chris Sole, George Munsey, Charlie Tear, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal.