Namibia Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Namibia Squad for T20 World Cup

Namibia has already announced a 16-man squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 to be held in the West Indies and the USA, which will be led by experienced Gerhard Erasmus. Although other countries have named only 15 players in their squad for the upcoming ICC tournament, Namibia has selected 16 players. It is believed that one player may be out of the final squad before May 25.

Namibia has also included 38-year-old all-rounder David Wiese in its squad, who will be seen playing the T20 World Cup for the third consecutive time for the team. Apart from Wiese, players like JJ Smit and Ruben Trumpelmann have also managed to find their place in Namibia’s T20 World Cup squad.  Not only this, young fast bowler Jack Brassell, who participated in the Under-19 World Cup this year, is also a part of this team. 

Also Read: What is the highest team total in Men’s T20 World Cup history?

Record holder John Nicole Lofty-Eaton did not get a chance

The best all-rounder John Nicole Lofty-Eaton did not get a chance in Namibia’s T20 World Cup squad. Disciplinary proceedings are going on against him, due to which the board has taken this decision. 

Lofty-Eaton holds the record for scoring the fastest century in T20 international cricket. In February this year, Lofty-Eaton broke Nepal’s Kushal Malla (on 34 balls) by scoring a century in just 33 balls in a T20 international match played in Kirtipur against Nepal. However, he was part of the Namibian team at the African Games held in Ghana in March, but was sent back home due to indiscipline. 

Apart from this, 34-year-old all-rounder Pikki, who has played 21 T20 international matches for Namibia or France, has also not been selected.

Namibia’s team is in Group B, which also includes England, Australia, Scotland and Oman. In the upcoming ICC tournament, Namibia will start its campaign against Oman on June 2. 

Namibia’s squad for T20 World Cup 

Gerhard Erasmus (c), Michael Van Lingen, Zane Green, Dylan Leicher, Jack Brassell, Ben Shikongo, Tangeni Lungameni, Ruben Trumpelmann, Niko Davin, JP Kotze, Jan Frylinck, David Wiese, Bernard Scholtz, JJ Smit, Malan Kruger, PD Blignaut.