LA Galaxy History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors

la galaxy

The LA Galaxy, too known as the Los Angeles World, is an American proficient soccer club based within the Los Angeles suburb of Carson, California, that competes in Major League Soccer (MLS), as a part of the Western Conference. The club started to play in 1996 as one of the league’s ten charter individuals


LA Galaxy is one of the ten establishing groups in Major League Soccer. The title “Galaxy” was inferred from Los Angeles being domestic to the “stars” of Hollywood. The group started competing within the first season of the then-new league, which took place in 1996. In the inaugural season, Los Angeles wrapped up, to begin with within the Western Conference and were one of the two groups that challenged within the first MLS Cup.

The Club wrapped up as runners up, losing to D.C. United within the last. The 1997 season began out 1–7 after eight games, but they went 15–9 for the rest of the season to qualify for the playoffs. The club finished up moment in their conference by losing to the Dallas Burn. In 1998, the Galaxy cleared out off on a streak, in the long run wrapping up 24–8. The System defeated the Dallas Burn, 9–3 on the total. They lost within the semi-final to the Chicago Fire, 2–1 on total


The Club was established in 1994 and is owned by Anschutz Entertainment Group.

In 2019, Forbes estimated the club is the second most valuable in the league, worth about $480 million.

Coaching Staff

Name Position Age
Guillermo Barros Schelotto Manager 46
Ariel Pereyra Assistant Manager 46
Dominic Kinnear Assistant Manager 52
Gustavo Barros Schelotto Assistant Manager 46
Juan José Romero Goalkeeping Coach 40



Name Position Age
Juan José Romero Sporting Director 43
Dennis te Kloese Chief Executive Officer 45
Chris Klein President 44
Philip Anschutz Owner 80



Name Position Age
Juan Carlos Ortega Academy Manager 52



Name Position Age
David Bingham Goalkeeper 1
Justin vom Steeg Goalkeeper 18
Eric López Goalkeeper 12
Daniel Steres Defender 5
Giancarlo González Defender 21
Nick DePuy Defender 20
Emiliano Insúa Defender 3
Danilo Acosta Defender 24
Diédié Traoré Defender 19
Rolf Feltscher Defender 25
Julian Araujo Defender 22
Perry Kitchen Midfielder 2
Jonathan dos Santos Midfielder 8
Sebastian Lletget Midfielder 17
Joe Corona Midfielder 15
Efraín Álvarez Midfielder 26
Sacha Kljestan Midfielder 16
Emil Cuello Midfielder 27
Cameron Dunbar Forward
Aleksandar Katai Forward 7
Jonathan Pérez Forward
Cristian Pavón Forward 10
Gordon Wild Forward 31
Chicharito Forward 14
Ethan Zubak Forward 29



Competitions Titles Seasons
CONCACAF Champions’ Cup 1 2000
Competitions Titles Seasons
MLS Cup 5 2002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014
Supporters’ Shield 4 1998, 2002, 2010, 2011
U.S. Open Cup 2 2001, 2005
Western Conference (Playoff) 9 1996, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014
Western Conference (Regular Season) 8 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010, 2011

Minor trophies

  • MLS Fair Play Award: 2013
  • MLS Award for Social Media Activation – #GalaxySocial / Malea Emma : 2018

7-year-old Malea Emma Tjandrawidjaja won Social Galaxy contest to sing the National Anthem at the LA Galaxy game on September 23, 2018. Her incredible performance went viral with over 25 million views across all social media platforms.