India’s Dominance In Asian Shooting Championship Continues, Chinki Grabs Olympic Quota Berth

Chinki Yadav secured Olympics 2020 quota place for India in Shooting after she stormed through to the finals of the Women’s 25 m Pistol on competition day four of the ongoing 14th Asian Shooting Championship (ASC)  in Doha, Qatar.

She was eventually placed a creditable sixth in what was her first senior international final, but India’s second and final quota in the event was secured by virtue of a performance which Chinki termed as her “best ever performance”.

Chinki, who came up the junior ranks to break into the senior team earlier this year, shot a solid 588 to rank second in qualification earlier in the day, following up on her precision round score of 292 on day three with a scintillating 296 in the Rapid Fire round on Friday.

Just weeks short of her 22nd birthday, Chinki shot a perfect 100 in the third and final series of shots.

Elsewhere, the dominance, especially of Indian juniors, continued unabated with India picking up 11 more medals on the day including six more golds.

Other Indian medal winners on day four were as follows:

50 m Rifle Prone Women- Team of Tejaswini Sawant, Anjum Moudgil and Kajal Saini won gold with a combined score of 1864.8

50 m Rifle Prone Men – Team of Sanjeev Rajput, Shubhankar Pramanick and Tarun Yadav won silver with a combined score of 1865.1

10 m Air Rifle Men Youth – Rudrankksh Patil, T.R.Srijay and Paarth Makhija won team gold with a combined score of 1871.0

10 m Air Rifle Men Youth – Rudrankksh and Srijay won individual gold and silver with scores of 249 and 248.8 respectively in the final

10 m Air Pistol Men Youth – Naveen, Monu kumar and Naved Chaudhary shot a total of 1710 to win the team gold

10 m Air Pistol Men Youth – Naveen won individual gold with a score of 241.2 in the final

25 m Standard Pistol Men – Udhayveer Sidhu shot 577 to win the individual silver,  while Udhayveer, Vijayveer Sidhu and Gurpreet Singh won team gold with a total of 1710

25 m Standard Pistol Men Junior – Harsh Gupta won individual bronze with a score of 565 and combined with Dilshaan Kelley and Harshwardhan Yadav to win team silver with a score of 1680

India have a total medal count of 35 so far in the competition. They have also won two Olympic quota places.

Indians who have booked the Olympic quota berths are as follows :

Anjum Mudgil                   – 10 M Air Rifle (Women’s)

Apurvi Chandela               – 10 M Air Rifle (Women’s)

Manu Bhaker                     – 10 M Air Pistol (Women’s)

Yashaswini Singh              – 10 M Air Pistol (Women’s)

Chinki Yadav                       – 25 M Pistol (Women’s)

Rahi Sarnobat                    – 25 m Pistol (Women’s)

Saurabh Chaudhary        – 10 M Air Pistol (Men’s)

Abhsihek Verma              – 10 M Air Pistol (Men’s)

Deepak Kumar                  – 10 M Air Rifle (Men’s)

Divyansh Singh Panwar – 10 M Air Rifle (Men’s)

Sanjeev Rajput                 – 50 M Rifle 3 Position (Men’s)

Leave a Reply