ICC Breaks Silence On World Cup Final Controversy

ICC responds to World Cup Controversy

ICC responds to World Cup Controversy

ICC responds to World Cup Controversy: ICC Cricket World Cup ended on a high note as we saw the greatest ODI of Cricket history. England won the World Cup for the first time after an epic thriller at Lord’s. The match ended in a tie and later, England beat New Zealand on account of more boundaries scored, after even the Super Over ended in a tie.

Though the Final was a game for the ages, however, the match was marred by controversies. Cricket experts and former cricketers raised questions on ICC’s boundary rule and also, the overthrow runs awarded to England off the third last ball of the game. It was an umpiring error which happened at the crucial stage of the game, which probably turned the tide in England’s favour, breaking the hearts of New Zealand fans and players.

What was the controversy?

The incident happened in the last over when England required 9 off 3 balls. Ben Stokes hit the ball to deep mid-wicket where Guptill was stationed. He fielded the ball and sent in a rocket throw at the keeper’s end where Stokes was trying to come back for 2, but the ball hit Stokes and went to the boundary. Umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarded 6 runs to England. As per ICC’s rule 19.8, Umpire did a big blunder, giving England six runs instead of the legit 5 as the batsmen hadn’t crossed at the time of the throw. This one run made the whole difference and match went into the super over.

What ICC responded?

After facing huge criticism over the umpiring error, the International Cricket Council (ICC) responded and released a statement through the spokesperson. The spokesperson said, “It was against the policy to comment on any decisions (made by the umpires). The umpires make decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy.” The statement was quoted by the leading Australian Sports Website foxstars.com.au.

What umpire Simon Taufel said?

The overthrow controversy made headlines when five times winner of ICC Umpire of the Year, Simon Taufel also raised questions on the umpiring standards in the final where England was awarded 6 runs on overthrows. “They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six.”
“It’s a clear mistake. It’s an error of judgment,” Taufel told foxsports.com.au.

Taufel made reference to ICC’s rule 19.8 which states that the batters are awarded an extra run only if the batsmen have crossed when the fielder releases the ball.

However, Taufel was thoughtful of his fellow professionals and claimed the presence of numerous other factors at that point, and the magnanimity of the match made it tougher for the umpires.

“In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw” Taufel added.

“Obviously TV replays showed otherwise.”

“You also have to watch where the batsmen are at that exact moment.”

“It’s unfair on England, New Zealand and the umpires involved to say it decided the outcome,” Taufel said.

Williamson finally reacts

Kane Williamson didn’t offer much of a reaction post-game, however, he came out now to speak on the incident. “It was a shame that the ball hit Stokes’ bat, but I just hope it doesn’t happen in moments like that,” Williamson said.

“Unfortunately that sort of thing happens from time to time. It’s a part of the game that we play.”

“I don’t wish to nitpick, just hope it never happens in such moments ever again,” he added.

What was the error in umpiring?

On the 4th ball of the last over, when Guptill threw the ball, both batsmen Stokes and Adil Rashid hadn’t crossed each other, and later the ball his Stokes and went away to the boundary. Field umpire Kumara Dharmasena made the mistake, and gave one at that, awarding 6 runs instead of the legitimate 5, to England, which turned the game on its head. Marais Erasmus was the other on-field umpire, but Dharmasena didn’t discuss the matter with him and England got the extra one run.

This one mistake of Kumara Dharmasena hurt New Zealand badly and the game ended in a tie, and unfortunately for the Kiwis, England won the game after Super Over also ended in a tie.

Join us:
facebook logo youtube logo twitter logo instagram logo pinterest logo telegram logo

Leave a Reply