Guyana Amazon Warriors in CPL 2020


Guyana Amazon Warriors

Cricket is s really funny game and the shortest format is the cruelest of them all. T20 Cricket can be really uncertain because of its nature. At one moment you are cruising at run-rate of 11 and in a blink of an eye, the whole team can just fall like a pack of cards. If there is one team in the Caribbean Premier League that has been the most unlucky of them all, it has to be Guyana Amazon Warriors.

GAW is one the teams that has not changed its name since the inaugural season of the tournament took place in 2013. From the inaugural season, Warriors has been one of the most consistent teams, conquering almost every team that came their way. The team plays games at Providence Stadium and it is located in Guyana.

Even after playing 5 out of the 7 finals that have happened in the tournament’s history, Warriors has been really unfortunate to not win any of those finals.

In 2013, the team won six out of the nine matches it played in the first-ever edition of the league and made their way through to the finals. However, they lost finals at the hands of Jamaica Tallawahs and became the runners-up. Next year, they kept the ball rolling and once again emerged victorious in six out of 10 games while one game ended in no result.

But, they once again could not take the pressure of the finals and lost the finals to Barbados Tridents. The most runs in the 2014 edition were scored Lendl Simmons (446 runs) and Ravi Rampaul picked up the most numbers of wickets (18 wickets) in that particular season.

In 2015, the management made some changes and gave Denesh Ramdin an opportunity to lead the side. They performed extremely well and reached the semi-final stage, but could get through to the finals. Since 2015, they have played three finals but sadly they could not cross the line to life their maiden title.

Some scintillating performances by Lendl Simmons and Martin Guptill with the bat have been one of the reasons for their success in the tournament.



1. Lendl Simmons: (1029 Runs)


1. Sohail Tanvir: (49 Wickets)

Guyana Amazon Warriors Schedule 2020

The Guyana Amazon Warriors will be starting the 2020 edition with a game against Trinbago Knight Riders on August 18 while they’ll play their second on August 19 against St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. 7 out of their 10 games will played at Brian Lara Stadium while the other matches will take place at Queen’s Park Oval.

Here’s the full schedule of Guyana Amazon Warriors in CPL 2020:

August 18: Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 19: Guyana Amazon Warriors v St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 22: Guyana Amazon Warriors v Jamaica Tallawahs (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 23: Guyana Amazon Warriors v St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Staidum)
August 25: Jamaica Tallawahs v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 27: Guyana Amazon Warriors v Trinbago Knight Riders (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 30: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Queen’s Park Oval)
September 01: Guyana Amazon Warriors v Barbados Tridents (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 02: St Lucia Zouks v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 03: Barbados Tridents v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)

Guyana Amazon Warriors Squad

The Warriors have a good balance of young blood and veterans. Players like Ross Taylor, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Chanderpaul Hemraj will be looking to play some fine knocks to take their team to the winning totals.

Meanwhile, the management would be hoping to get all-round performances from Chris Green and Sherfane Rutherford.

On the other hand, the bowling lineup will be lead South African legend Imran Tahir and he’ll be supported by the likes Kevin Sinclair and Ashmead Nedd.

Check out GAW’s full squad for the 2020 CPL:

Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmeade Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh, Kissoondath Magram

Guyana Amazon Warriors Points Table (Yearwise)

Owners & Support Staff

Owners: Dr. Ranjisingh ‘Bobby’ Ramroop’s New GPC Inc.
Head Coach: Johan Botha
Assistant Coach: Rayon Griffith
Analyst: Saurab Walkar
Team Operations Manager: Oman Khan
Cricket Operations Manager: Reon King
Trainer: Clinton Jeremiah