Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020


Trinbago Knight Riders

The most successful team in the history of the Caribbean Premier League, the Trinbago Knight Riders has always been the team to beat whenever the tournament takes place. In 2013, the team was one of the favorites to win the inaugural edition of the league. To an extent, they did the work that they needed to and qualified for the semi-finals. However, they could not get past the knockout stage and were outclassed by the Guyana Amazon Warriors, finishing fourth on the points table.

In 2014, they did slightly better and qualified for the semi-finals once again. The side once again failed to produce a winning performance in the knockout stage and finished third.

When they came back to the cricketing field in 2015, they only had one vision in their mind – to lift the trophy. After some superlative performances in that particular edition, they qualified for the knockout stage for the third consecutive year. They defeated Jamaica Tallawahs in the semi-finals to secure a place in the finals.

On July 27, they won their maiden CPL title after defeating Barbados Tridents in the epic finale. Kamran Akmal was awarded the man of the match trophy for his amazing performance with the bat.

TKR is the only team in the tournament’s history to win the title three times – most by any team in Caribbean Premier League.

Their second title came in 2017 while they successfully defended their championship in 2018. The team has played three finals until now and has emerged victorious in all three of them.

Just like Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Knight Riders have managed to qualify for the playoff or knockout stage in every edition of the CPL.

New Zealand’s explosive left-handed batsman Colin Munro has been the leading run-scorer for the side while Dwayne Bravo tops the list of the players with most wickets to their names.



1. Colin Munro: (1546 Runs)


1. Dwayne Bravo: (97 Wickets)

Trinbago Knight Riders Schedule 2020

The Knight Riders will start their campaign against the runners-up of the 2019 edition, Guyana Amazon Warriors. The match will take place on August 18 and will be played at the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium. The three-time champion will play the defending champions Barbados Tridents on August 23.

The rivalry between Knight Riders and Tridents has always been exciting. Both teams have played 15 games against each other and Knight Riders have won 8 out of those 15 games while Tridents have emerged victorious in 7.

Check out the full schedule of Trinbago Knight Riders in the upcoming Caribbean Premier League:

August 18: Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 20: Trinbago Knight Riders vs Jamaica Tallawahs (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 23: Trinbago Knight Riders vs Barbados Tridents (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 26: St Lucia Zouks vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 27: Guyana Amazon Warriors vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 29: Barbados Tridents vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Queen’s Park Oval)
September 01: Jamaica Tallawahs vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 02: Trinbago Knight Riders vs St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 05: Trinbago Knight Riders vs St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 06: St Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Brian Lara Stadium)

TKR will look to carry on with their golden run in the tournament and qualify for the knockout stage once again. Also, they are just one step shy of becoming the most decorated team in the tournament’s history.

Trinbago Knight Riders Squad

With names like Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Colin Munro, and Sunil Lendl Simmons, the Knight Riders have already become the strongest side of the tournament on paper. All the aforementioned players have a lot of experience in how to handle tough situations and turn those situations into an opportunity to produce some really fine performances.

Apart from the players like Darren Bravo, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, and Pravin Tamble would also be the players to watch out for.

Here’s the full squad:

Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, and Muhammad Ali Khan

Trinbago Knight Riders Points Table (Yearwise)

Owners & Support Staff

Owner: Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment)
Co-Owners: Juhi Chawla, Jay Mehta (Mehta Group)
Head Coach: Brendon McCullum
Chief Executives: Rajeev Singh, Lloyd Rangiah