Barbados Tridents in CPL 2020


Barbados Tridents

Apart from Jamaica Tallawahs, the only other team to win the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) twice is none other than Barbados Tridents. The Tridents has always been one of the strongest teams in the league’s history and they proved their in the first two editions of the tournament where they performed superbly.

They started their CPL journey by winning four matches in the inaugural edition and finishing on the third place in the group stage. It was one of the four teams that made it to the semi-finals, but sadly they lost the semi-final game against the Tallawahs. But others knew that this team cane become one of the successful teams in the coming years.

And they did not disappoint.

The Tridents topped the group stage and went on to win the 2014 season of the star-studded league. They played the final against Guyana Amazon Warriors and won the game by just 8 runs because of the Duckworth-Lewis method. The side also performed extremely well in the 2015 season and won six out of their 10 games, topping the group stage for the second consecutive year.

They once again got qualified for the finals and met Trinbago Knight Riders for the ultimate encounter. However, this time it was TKR who emerged victorious and Tridents had to remain happy with being the runners-up.

The upcoming seasons turned out to be disastrous for the team as they finished 5th in 2016 and 2017 while they dropped to the bottom of the table in 2018.

After a disappointing performance in the last three editions, the management announced that Jason Holder will now captain the side instead of Kieron Pollard. The gamble worked as the Tridents won their second CPL title under the leadership of Holder in 2019.

The management would be hoping for another superlative performance from the team in the upcoming edition. The team is just one step closer to become a third-time champion, a feat that has only been achieved by Trinbago Knight Riders in the tournament.



1. Dwayne Smith: (1305 Runs)


1. Ravi Rampaul: (47 Wickets)

Barbados Tridents Schedule 2020

The defending champions will open their campaign with a game against St Kitts and Nevis Patriots on August 18. The side would look to better their record against the Patriots as it has just won 3 out of the 10 encounters that has taken place between them.

Their second game will be against St Lucia Zouks on August 20 at the Brian Lara Stadium.

Check out the full schedule of the Barbados Tridents in the 2020 Caribbean Premier League:  

August 18: Barbados Tridents v St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 20: Barbados Tridents v St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 23: Trinbago Knight Riders v Barbados Tridents (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 25: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots v Barbados Tridents (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 26: Barbados Tridents v Jamaica Tallawahs (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 29: Barbados Tridents v Trinbago Knight Riders (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 30: Barbados Tridents v St Lucia Zouks (Queen’s Park Oval)
September 01: Guyana Amazon Warriors v Barbados Tridents (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 03: Barbados Tridents v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 05: Jamaica Tallawahs v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)

Barbados Tridents Squad

The Tridents is filled with match-winners like Shai Hope, Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, and Mitchell Santner. The onus of making runs will be on Shamarh Brooks, Johnson Charles, and Corey Anderson while Jason Holder, Marcus Stoinis, Raymon Reifer, and Kyle Mayers will be quite handy with their abilities with the bat as well as the ball.

The bowling department will be led by the number one T20 all-rounder in ICC rankings – Rashid Khan. He will be getting support from the likes of Ashley Nurse and 19-year-old Nyeem Young.

The team will be looking to successfully defend the title in 2020.

Here’s the full squad of Barbados Tridents for the 2020 Caribbean Premier League:

Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Corey Anderson, Shamarh Brooks, Mitchell Santner, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Shayan Jahangir

Barbados Tridents Points Table (Yearwise)

Owners & Support Staff

Owners: Manish Patel (CMG Companies)
Head Coach: Robin Singh
Assistant Coach: Vesbert Drakes

Hollywood actor Mark Wahlberg has an equity share in the Barbados Tridents.