St Lucia Zouks in CPL 2020


St. Lucia Zouks

St. Lucia Zouks is the sixth and final team of the Caribbean Premier League. They started the tournament with the name Zouks and went with until 2016. However, they changed their name and logo in 2016. The side was called as St. Lucia Stars from 2017 to 2019. In August 2019, after the 2019 season ended, the St Lucia Stars franchise team was axed from the tournament, with the CPL looking to replace the team.

They returned as St Lucia Zouks later that month. The side is known to be one of the least impressive sides in the history of CPL. During the inaugural season of the tournament, they failed to put a mark on the spectators and lost five of the seven group games that year. They finished at the bottom of the table with only 4 points to their name. Next year was no different.

They could only manage to emerge victorious in 2 games while they lost 7 out of the nine games they played that year. 2016 was the most impressive year for Zouks as they showed why underdogs should not be held down. They started the tournament on an amazing note by winning matches against much stronger sides and finished the season by qualifying for the semi-finals for the very first time.

However, the side could not get through to the finals and was beaten by the Trinbago Knight Riders in the playoffs. Since then, the Zouks have failed to come up with an impressive show in the tournament. In 2017, they finished at the sixth place while in 2018 and 2019 the team ended their seasons on 5th rank. When it comes to individual performances, Andre Fletcher has impressed the most with bat and is currently the leading run-scorer for the Zouks. Meanwhile, Shane Shillingford is the highest wicket-taker for the side.



1. Andre Fletcher: (1870 runs)


1. Shane Shillingford: (27 Wickets)

St Lucia Zouks Schedule 2020

The Zouks will play their first match against Jamaica Tallawahs on August 19 while they meet the defending champions Barbados Tridents on August 20.

Here’s the full schedule of St Lucia Zouks in 2020 Caribbean Premier League:

August 19: Jamaica Tallawahs v St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 20: St Lucia Zouks v Barbados Tridents ((Brian Lara Stadium)
August 22: St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 24: Guyana Amazon Warriors v St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Stadium)
August 26: St Lucia Zouks v Trinbago Knight Riders (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 27: St Lucia Zouks v St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (Queen’s Park Oval)
August 30: Barbados Tridents v St Lucia Zouks (Queen’s Park Oval)
September 02: St Lucia Zouks v Guyana Amazon Warriors (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 05: Trinbago Knight Riders v St Lucia Zouks (Brian Lara Stadium)
September 06: St Lucia Zouks v Jamaica Tallawahs (Brian Lara Stadium)

St Lucia Zouks Squad

West Indies veteran Darren Sammy will continue to lead the St. Lucia Zouks in the 2020 Caribbean League Team. However, the management will be looking for a great performance this time around and take the team into the top 4.

The team has a lot of world-class all-rounders like Roston Chase, Mohammad Nabi, and Darren Sammy who can turn the match in their favor really quickly. The onus of scoring runs will be once again on Andre Fletcher, who has always impressed everyone with superlative knocks. Other batsmen like Najibullah Zadran, Kimani Melius, and Javelle Glen would have to chip in with valuable contributions.

The bowling department will be spearheaded by Scott Kuggeleijn while other bowlers like Kesrick Williams, Chemar Holder, and Obed McCoy will have to bowl some useful spells.

Here’s the full squad:

Roston Chase, Mohammad Nabi, Darren Sammy, Najibullah Zadran, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Scott Kuggeleijn, Chemar Holder, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Zahir Khan, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, and Saad Bin Zafar.

St Lucia Zouks Points Table (Yearwise)

St Lucia Zouks Franchise Owners

Owners: Mohit Burman, Preity Zinta
Co-Owners: Ness Wadia, Karan Paul
Head Coach: Andy Flower