Gujarat Titans Strengths and Weaknesses

Gujarat Titans Strengths and Weaknesses

Gujarat Titans, a new addition to the world’s biggest franchise T20 league, are well on their course to clinch back-to-back IPL titles. GT was introduced in the IPL in 2022 and they won the trophy in their very first attempt.

They will be playing in Qualifier 2 of the 2023 season today and have the chance to become the first team in the league to win consecutive titles in their first two years. Mumbai Indians stand in their way to the final where CSK awaits them.

The strengths of the Gujarat team that have helped them reach here in only their second IPL season have been Shubhman Gill, the bowling attack, and the ability to finish games.

Shubhman Gill has been absolutely phenomenal this season where he has scored 722* runs along with two back-to-back centuries. He has become a superstar from a star this season. He has single-handedly won games for them and will be their MVP for the Qualifier match as well.

The bowling attack of GT led by Mohammed Shami has bowled brilliantly throughout the season and is one of the main reasons GT are looking at defending their trophy. The return of Mohit Sharma, the rise of Noor Ahmed, the swing of Mohammed Shami, and the magic of Rashid Khan have been the top stories for them this season.

They have also been able to finish games well, thanks to Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan, which has also made them a chasing beast this season.
There are not many glaring weaknesses in their team but the form of Hardik Pandya and the top-order misfiring is a concern. Hardik Pandya has not been anywhere near his best in the 2023 season. He has captained well but has not bowled and not scored runs.

It has led to the top-order not scoring many runs apart from Shubhman Gill. Gill has held the batting together otherwise it would have been a disaster for them.

Let us have a look at the team they will be playing today to beat Mumbai Indians and play the final against CSK.

Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubhman Gill, Hardik Pandya (c), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Dasun Shanaka, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmed, Mohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami.