ECB Announces #RaiseTheBat Test Series, Players set to don key workers’ name on their jerseys



The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced #RaiseTheBat test series between England and West Indies Men’s team in an attempt to honour the heroic cricketing key workers who helped during the coronavirus pandemic. 

It will be a three-match test series that will be held behind closed doors in July as it also marks the return of Cricket in England as well as among the Test-playing nations. 

The matches will be played at The Ageas Bowl and Emirates Old Trafford as England will take on the visitors West Indies in a Three-match Test series. Skipper Joe Root and his side will be seen wearing the names of the key workers on their jerseys ahead of the first Test match starting on July 8. 

“We want to take the time to honour the brave key workers who went in to bat for their country under the toughest circumstances,” captain Joe Root said.

The names included will be of the doctors, social workers, carers and teachers who have been nominated by their local cricket clubs for their benefaction and hard work. The final names will be put on ECB’s official website and the other digital platforms. 

Emily Blakemore, a nurse who has been working really hard in looking after COVID-19 patients will be one such name to feature on the jersey. 

This initiative taken by the ECB has already featured names over 300 billboards across England and Wales and the number of billboards is expected to be increased by June 29. In fact, people are also being encouraged to surface the names of the keyworkers in order to acknowledge their contribution. 

ECB Chief Officer Tom Harrison also said, “As we stage the first international sporting competition in the UK since COVID-19 began, we want to pay tribute to the people who have bravely played their part during this crisis. Through the #raisethebat Test series, we will show our gratitude to key workers.”

England and West Indies will play three-match Test series with the schedule as follows:

  • 8th-12th July – First Test, The Ageas Bowl
  • 16th-20th July  – Second Test, Emirates Old Trafford
  • 24th-28th July – Third Test, Emirates Old Trafford