Shane Warne names his Australia’s playing XI for the first T20 against England

Cricket Australia

After hosting Pakistan, West Indies, and Ireland, England are set to host Australia for a three-match T20 series and as many one-day internationals, starting from 3rd September 2020. All the T20 matches will be played at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Southampton.

Australia have come in with a full-strength 21-man squad for the tour. The squad boasts of all the star players one could think of. Perhaps, it would be tough for the management to select the best XI ahead of the first T20 international against England.

Meanwhile, Shane Warne has picked Australia’s playing XI for the first T20 against England on Thursday. Shane Warne went with the regular openers in Aaron Finch and David Warner. Surprisingly, the Aussie leg spinner went with Stoinis at number three, followed by former skipper Steve Smith.

The middle-order consist of power-hitters such as Maxwell, Carey and Mitchell Marsh at number five, six and seven. Glen Maxwell will be playing for the first time since September 2019. He will be the guy to the watch out for.

Warne went with Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins as two experienced fast bowler. Besides, he went with young Riley Meredith who impressed everyone with his bowling in Big Bash. Adam Zampa is named as the lone spinner in the side. He has been in an imperious form in T20s and can make life difficult of English batsmen.


Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa 

England  Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood. Reserves: Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood