Diving: Know What are The Rules and Regulations


Diving is a favorite water sport enjoyed in various ways across the globe. At first glance, diving seems like one of the most straightforward sports. People jump off a platform or springboard into the water and do tricks to get points from judges. 

Also Read: What is current system of swimming in India?

Diving is pretty complex and challenging, requiring total dedication from those aiming to reach the top. Let’s dive into the rules and regulations of diving.

Diving Rules

The rules and regulations for diving are clear-cut, yet they show minor distinctions between the primary forms: springboard diving and platform diving.

Springboard Diving

  • Men need to finish six dives, while women complete five.
  • Dives can vary in difficulties throughout the competition.
  • Five different categories of dives must be included (forward, back, reverse, inward, twisting)
  • For their sixth dive, men can choose a category they’ve already done, but women can’t
  • All dives must be different among five types.

Platform Diving

  • Men do 6 dives, while women do 5.
  • Both men and women need to start with two dives of 2.0 difficulty.
  • The difficulty levels for the rest of their lives can vary.
  • Both genders must engage in dives from at least four categories, including one facing forward.

Diving Format

Different types of diving are taken on globally, like cliff diving competitions. But the most common type of diving is jumping into a pool from springboards or platforms set at different heights.

Diving Equipment

You don’t require any special gear other than a diving board and a swimsuit to go diving. The only necessary equipment is a diving board or sometimes multiple diving boards for competitions.


A panel of around five judges or more usually sits at the table during global contests. Each judge gives a rating ranging from 1 to 10 to divers

  • 0: Unsuccessful Attempt (Completely Failed)
  • ½ – 2: Not Up to the Mark (Unsatisfactory)
  • 2½ – 4½: Lacking (Deficient)
  • 5 – 6½: Acceptable (Satisfactory)
  • 7 – 8: Admirable (Good)
  • 8½ – 9½: Highly Commendable (Very good)
  • 10: Outstanding (Excellent)

When they score each dive, Judges consider five different things:

  1. How the diver starts: There are different ways to begin a dive, and each diver gets judged on how well they do it.
  2. How they get to the end of the board: The diver should move smoothly to the end and show good form while doing it.
  3. How they jump off: The takeoff should be balanced and controlled, and they should start at the proper distance from the platform or springboard.
  4. How they move in the air: The diver should keep their body in the right shape during the dive, and how much they spin or flip depends on the dive.
  5. How they enter the water: They should go into the water straight and make as little splash as possible.


When the competition ends, the participant with the highest scores emerges as the winner.