AS Saint-Étienne History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors



Association Sportive de Saint-Étienne Loire; commonly known as AS Saint-Étienne, ASSE  is a French professional football club based in Saint-Étienne in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, The club was established in 1919 and plays in Ligue 1, the top division of French football. Saint-Étienne plays it’s home matches at the Stade Geoffroy-Guichard. The group is managed by Claude Puel and captained by Loïc Perrin, who began his career at the club in 1996. Saint-Étienne is known as Les Verts meaning “the Greens” due to its home colours.


AS Saint-Étienne was established in 1919 by representatives of the Saint-Étienne-based basic need store chain Groupe Casino under the title Amicale des Employés de la Société des Magasins Casino (ASC). The club received green as its essential colour primarily due to it being the foremost colour of Groupe Casino. In 1920, due to the French Football League (FFF) disallowing the use of trademarks in the sports clubs, the club dropped “Casino” from its title and changed its title to essentially Amical Sporting Club to hold the ASC acronym. In 1927, Pierre Guichard took over as president of the club and, after combining with nearby club Stade Forézien Universitaire, changed its title to Affiliation sportive Stéphanoise.


Coaching Staff

Name Position Age
Claude Pue Manager 58
Alain Blachon Assistant Manager 67
Julien Sablé Assistant Manager 39
Fabrice Grange Goalkeeping Coach 48
Thierry Cotte Conditioning Coach 46



Name Position Age
Bernard Caïazzo President 66
Roland Romeyer Vice president 74
Dominique Rocheteau Sporting Director 65



Name Position Age
Gerard Fernandez Head of Youth Scouting 72




  • Ligue 1Record

Winners (10): 1956–57, 1963–64, 1966–67, 1967–68, 1968–69, 1969–70, 1973–74, 1974–75, 1975–76, 1980–81

  • Ligue 2

Winners (3): 1962–63, 1998–99, 2003–04

  • Coupe de France

Winners (6): 1961–62, 1967–68, 1969–70, 1973–74, 1974–75, 1976–77

  • Coupe de la Ligue

Winners (1): 2012–13

  • Trophée des Champions

Winners (5): 1957, 1962, 1967, 1968, 1969

  • Coupe Charles Drago

Winners (2): 1955, 1958


  • European Cup
    • Runners-up(1): 1975–76