Abdul Qadir’s Son Usman Qadir Selected In The Pakistan T20I Squad

DNA India

Usman Qadir, the son of the former Pakistan leg spinner Abdul Qadir, has been selected in the Pakistan squad for the upcoming T20I series against Australia. The chief selector Misbah-ul-haq has made quite a few changes in the squad.

Apart from Usman, the other players who have been picked for Pakistan for the first time are Khushdil Shah and Musa Khan. While, Khushdil is a hard hitting left-handed batsman, Musa is a fast bowler who is being tipped as one of the brightest young talents in Pakistan at the moment.

Shadab Khan, Pakistan’s premier spinner in white ball cricket, hasn’t been able to deliver as well of late as he had delivered in his first season in international cricket.

Misbah-ul-Haq said recently that the reason Shadab couldn’t be dropped was because there’s no back-up for him. Now, Usman is probably going to be groomed as Shadab’s back-up.

Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad, who made their comebacks in the series against Sri Lanka, have been dropped after a couple of poor performances, while Imam-ul-Haq has surprisingly been included in the squad.

Imam has never been considered as someone who is ideally suited to T20 cricket. He is more of a test and ODI player, but Misbah probably thinks he has got the repertoire of shots to excel in the T20 format as well.

Another selection which is slightly surprising is that of Mohammed Irfan. The tall fast bowler, who has been out of the Pakistan set-up for a long time, has been recalled. He has been preferred over Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Pakistan’s position at the top of the ICC T20I rankings has weakened a little bit after the whitewash against Sri Lanka. If they lose against Australia as well, they might lose the top spot in the rankings.

Here is the squad that Pakistan has picked for the T20I series against Australia:

SQUAD: Babar Azam (C), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Musa Khan, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz


Leave a Reply