Wolfsburg History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors



Verein für Leibesübungen Wolfsburg also called VfL Wolfsburg or Wolfsburg is a German professional sports club situated in Wolfsburg, Lower Saxony. The club originated out of a multi-sports club for Volkswagen workers in the city of Wolfsburg. It was initially known for its football department, but have also other departments including badminton, handball, and athletics. the top tier of the German football league system. And as far as the results are concerned the club have won the Bundesliga once in their history, in the 2008–09 season, the DFB-Pokal in 2015 and the 

The club is a part of Bundesliga and the DFL-Supercup in 2015.

The professional club is run and managed by the spin-off organization VfL Wolfsburg-Fußball GmbH which is an entirely owned subsidiary of the Volkswagen Group. Since 2002, the club’s home matches are played at the Volkswagen Arena.


The club was initiated in the year 1938 as Stadt des KdF-Wagen which was home to autoworkers who manufactured cars and that would later become famous as the Volkswagen Beetle. The first football club affiliated with the Autoworks was known as BSG Volkswagenwerk Stadt des KdF-Wagen, a works team. The team was a part of the first division Gauliga Osthannover in 1943–44 and 1944–45 seasons.

On 12 September 1945, after the disaster of World War II, a new club was formed and was known briefly as VSK Wolfsburg. The club began to play in the green and white still worn by VfL today; local youth trainer Bernd Elberskirch had ten green jerseys at his disposal and white bed sheets donated by the public were sewn together by local women to make shorts.

On 15 December 1945, the club also faced some serious issues including the financial crisis that almost had assumptions of shutting the club down when all but one of its players left to join 1. FC Wolfsburg. The only player remaining, Josef Meyer, worked with Willi Hilbert to reform the side by signing new players. The new team adopted the moniker VfL Wolfsburg, VfL standing for Verein für Leibesübungen. This can be translated as “club for gymnastics” or “club for exercises.” Within a year they managed to get the local Gifhorn title. In late November 1946, the club played a friendly against longtime Gelsenkirchen powerhouse Schalke 04 at the stadium owned by Volkswagen, emerging as the successor to BSG as the company sponsored side.


Managing director – sport  Jörg Schmadtke
Sporting director  Marcel Schäfer


Coaching Staff

Head coach  Oliver Glasner
Assistant coach  Michael Angerschmid
Assistant coach  Thomas Sageder
Goalkeeping coach  Pascal Formann
Fitness coach  Michael Berktold
Rehabilitation coach  Michele Putaro
Rehabilitation and fitness coach  Christoph Tebel



Video analyst  Tim Cezanne
Head of medicine  Heiko Wehe
Team doctor  Dr. Gunter Wilhelm
Team doctor  Dr. Stephan Bornhardt
Head physiotherapist  Sascha Weiß
Physiotherapist  Patrick Kasprowski
Physiotherapist  Manfred Kroß
Physiotherapist  Steffen Mantei
Chiropractor  Alexander Steinbrenner
Kitman  Heribert Rüttger
Kitman  Nils Scholz
Team manager  Philipp Wegner



No Position Player
1 GK Koen Casteels (vice-captain)
2 DF William
4 MF Ignacio Camacho
6 DF Paulo Otávio
7 MF Josip Brekalo
8 MF Renato Steffen
9 FW Wout Weghorst
11 MF Felix Klaus
12 GK Pavao Pervan
13 MF Yannick Gerhardt
14 FW Admir Mehmedi
15 DF Jérôme Roussillon
19 DF Kevin Mbabu
22 DF Marin Pongračić
23 MF Josuha Guilavogui (captain)
24 MF Xaver Schlager
25 DF John Brooks
27 MF Maximilian Arnold (3rd captain)
30 GK Niklas Klinger
31 DF Robin Knoche
32 DF Marcel Tisserand
33 FW Daniel Ginczek
35 GK Lino Kasten
36 GK Phillip Menzel
38 MF Ismail Azzaoui
40 FW Victor Sá




  • Bundesliga:
    • Winners: 2008–09
    • Runners-up: 2014–15
  • DFB-Pokal:
    • Winners: 2014–15
    • Runners-up: 1994–95
  • DFL-Supercup:
    • Winners: 2015


  • Deutsche Amateurmeisterschaft:
    • Runners-up: 1963
  • Amateuroberliga Niedersachsen-Ost(II):
    • Winners: 1952, 1954, 1963
  • Regionalliga Nord(II):
    • Runners-up: 1970
  • Oberliga Nord(III):
    • Winners: 1991, 1992
    • Runners-up: 1976, 1978, 1988
  • Lower Saxony Cup (Tiers 3–5)
    • Winners: 1962, 2002, 2003


  • German Under 19 championship
    • Winners: 2010–11, 2012–13
    • Runners-up: 2007–08
  • Under 19 Bundesliga North/Northeast
    • Winners: 2007–08, 2010–11, 2011–12, 2012–13
  • Under 17 Bundesliga North/Northeast
    • Winners: 2008–09, 2015–16