South Africa Tour to Australia 2018 – Full Schedule and Details

South Africa Tour to Australia

South Africa Tour to Australia

The South African cricket team has been scheduled to tour Australia in the coming October and November of 2018 for playing three One Day Internationals (ODIs) and one Twenty20 International match (T20I)

South Africa Tour to Australia 2018 Schedule

DateMatch DetailsTime
Nov 04, SunAustralia vs South Africa, 1st ODI
Perth Stadium, Perth
7:30 AM
02:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM LOCAL
Nov 09, FriAustralia vs South Africa, 2nd ODI
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
9:20 AM
03:50 AM GMT / 02:20 PM LOCAL
Nov 11, SunAustralia vs South Africa, 3rd ODI
Bellerive Oval, Hobart
8:50 AM
03:20 AM GMT / 02:20 PM LOCAL
Nov 17, SatAustralia vs South Africa, Only T20I
Carrara Oval, Queensland
1:50 PM
08:20 AM GMT / 06:20 PM LOCAL

South African Cricket Team:

The South African national cricket team, also called the ‘Proteas’ (named after South Africa’s national flower, Protea cynaroides, commonly known as the “king protea”), is mainly administered by Cricket South Africa. South Africa is a full-time member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) along with an acquired Test, One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) status.

South African Team had entered first-class and international cricket at the same time when they played hosts to the England cricket team in the season of 1888–89.  In the starting, the team was a no match for the likes of Australia and England but, having gained both experience and expertise in the years to follow, they were able to build a competitive team by the first decade of the 20th century. South African Team regularly played against teams like Australia, England and New Zealand up to the 1960s, by which time there built a considerable opposition to the country’s apartheid policy and the team faced an international ban imposed by the ICC, in compliance with actions taken by other global sporting bodies. By the time the ban was imposed, South Africa had developed itself to a point where the team included the likes of Eddie Barlow, Graeme Pollock, and Mike Procter, arguably the best in the world, who had outplayed even Australia.

The ban remained in action until the year of 1991 and South Africa then played against India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies for the first time. The team since its reinstatement has been strong for the most part has held number one positions in international rankings quite a few times but strangely enough, the team has lacked success in organized tournaments. Outstanding players had been included since its reinstatement comprising of the likes of Allan Donald, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock, Jacques Kallis, Graeme Smith, Kagiso Rabada, AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, and Hashim Amla.

Australian Cricket Team:

The Australia national cricket team is the indeed the oldest team in Test cricket history. It had played in the first ever Test match held in 1877. The team of Australia also plays One Day International cricket and Twenty20 International, with its participation in both the first ODI played against England in the season of 1970-71 and also the first Twenty20 International, played against New Zealand in the 2004 and 2005 season,

winning both the games. The team follows the procedure of drawing its players from various teams playing in the Australian domestic competitions e.g, the Sheffield Shield, the Australian domestic limited-overs cricket tournament including the Big Bash League.

The Australian national team till now has played a total number of 812 Test matches, winning 383 of them, losing 219, drawing 208  and ending in a tie twice. Australia holds the rank of number one team overall in Test cricket in terms of its overall win-loss ratio and winning percentage. Going by recent data on 1 May 2018, Australia is ranked third in the ICC Test Championship with 106 rating points.

South Africa vs Australia

The Australian cricket team has also played a total of 916 ODI matches, winning 556 of them, losing 317, tying 9 times and with 34 of them ending in no results. Currently, they are placed fifth in the ICC ODI Championship, though they stayed as 1st Rank Holders for 141 of 185 months since their introduction in 2002. Australia Cricket Team has made a record appearing as even World Cup finals (1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015) and have won the World Cup Trophy 5 times out this 7 which is a record as well. The winning years are 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007and 2015. Australia is also the first team to make its appearance in four consecutive World Cup finals (1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007), surpassing easily the old record of three consecutive World Cup appearances made by West Indies (1975, 1979 and 1983) and also the first ever team to win 3 consecutive world cups (1999, 2003 and 2007). It also became the second team to win a World Cup on home soil (2015), after it was done by India in 2011.

The team of Australia remained undefeated in 34 consecutive World Cup matches until the 19th of March at the 2011 Cricket World Cup where Team of Pakistan beat them by 4 wickets. Australian Cricket Team has also won the ICC Champions Trophy twice, once in 2006 and in 2009, making them the only team who became back to back winners in the Champions Trophy tournaments. The team of Australia has also played 106 Twenty20 Internationals, winning 56 of them, and losing 47, tying twice and with 1 ending without results.

South Africa Vs Australia in T20’s

Australian Team has competed against a total of 10 countries in T20Is and has played almost 17 matches against South Africa, out of which, Australia has defeated South Africa on total 11 occasions.

South Africa Vs Australia 2018

South Africa Vs Australia images

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has finalized its programme of international matches to be held ahead of ICC World Cup organized in England and Wales next year

Cricket South Africa (CSA) and Cricket Australia (CA) have jointly released the schedule for South Africa’s tour to Australia towards the end of this year (2018)

The Proteas will be playing a total of three ODIs in addition to playing a single T20 International match. The Proteas will be playing at one new venue which is the T20 International scheduled to be played on the Gold Coast.

South Africans have always proved to mostly dominant against Australia. These were the two teams who for the first time in the history of cricket had constructed a one day match where a 400 score was made and surpassed and later chased in order to win. The chasers were none other the Proteas. Going by the last Australian Tour Of South Africa earlier this year, and South Africa’s terrific performance in the test series, who knows what’s in store for the upcoming series.

Also Check :

Leave a Reply