South Africa name six uncapped players in Test team to face England

The South African team announced as many as six uncapped players in their 17-member squad for the first two Tests against England that starts at Centurion from December 26, also called Boxing Day. Five players who were a part of the recent Test series against India that South Africa lost 0-3 were dropped, while pacer Lungi Ngidi was not picked due to a hamstring injury.

The uncapped players include opener Pieter Malan, who might make his debut if Aiden Markram does not recover on time, Rassie van der Dussen, Dwaine Pretorius, fast bowlers Dane Paterson and Beuran Hendricks along with wicketkeeper Rudi Second.


The squad was the first ever to be picked by the new selection panel that consists of new head coach Mark Boucher, skipper Faf du Plessis, assistant coach Enoch Nkwe and independent selector Linda Zondi.

The dropped players include Senuran Muthusamy, George Linde and Dane Piedt, who were all picked against India due to the spin-friendly conditions in the Asian country. Keshav Maharaj is the lone spinner in the team that will face England.

There is no place for Theunis de Bruyn, or keeper Heinrich Klaasen either.

Markram has not played a single game for his side since suffering from a broken bone in his hand after he punched a wall in frustration following his poor run of form in the series against India. He might have to prove his fitness before the first Test gets underway, if he wishes to partner Dean Elgar at the top of the order.

Squad for first two Tests against England: Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Pieter Malan, Aiden Markram, Anrich Nortje, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second, Rassie van der Dussen

South Africa A team to play England: Dane Piedt (captain), Temba Bavuma, Nandre Burger, Theunis de Bruyn, Reeza Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lutho Sipamla, Glenton Stuurman, Pite van Biljon, Kyle Verreynne

Leave a Reply