Rishabh Pant ruled out of 2nd ODI against Australia -

Rishabh Pant ruled out of 2nd ODI against Australia

Rishabh Pant

Wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant has been ruled out of the second ODI between India and Australia that will be played at Rajkot on January 17, 2020, after suffering from a concussion in the first ODI in Mumbai.

The Delhiite was hit on the helmet in that game and did not take the field during the second innings. KL Rahul donned the gloves in his absence.

Team India reached Rajkot on Wednesday afternoon, but Pant did not join the team. He has travelled to Bangalore for further rehabilitation.

Pant had been hit on the helmet by a Pat Cummins bouncer in the 44th over of the India innings when he was on 28. He sought treatment during the innings break and was kept out of the rest of the game as a precautionary measure.

He (Pant) is ruled out of the 2nd ODI. His availability for the final ODI will be based on how he responds during the rehabilitation protocol,” BCCI said in a statement.

After getting hit on his helmet while batting in the 1st ODI, Rishabh got a concussion and took no further part in the game. He was then taken to the hospital for overnight monitoring under a specialist.

He is stable and all his scan reports are clear. He has been discharged from the hospital and will head to NCA, Bengaluru to undergo his rehabilitation protocol,” the release further stated.

The Indian team suffered a massive 10-wicket defeat, also their worst against the Australians, in the first game, as the visitors chased down 255 without breaking into a sweat. The opening duo of Aaron Finch and David Warner scored their respective hundreds, and the side will be high on confidence as they look to clinch their second successive ODI series against India in India.

Last March, the Aussies had traveled to India for a five-match ODI series, winning 3-2.

Please follow and like us:
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial