Real Sociedad History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honours

Real Sociedad de Futbol commonly called as Real Sociedad or La Real, is a Spanish club in the city of San Sabastian, in Basque Country. The club has won La Liga title thrice and Copa del Rey twice. Real Sociedad plays their home matches in Anoeta stadium. Real Sociedad has also played in UEFA     Champions League twice, in 2003-04 season they were knocked out by Lyon in the round of sixteen.


Real Sociedad was founded on 7 September 1909, by the students and workers of Britain. At first, they named it San Sabastian Recreation Club in 1904, it was a separate branch of the club and in 1905 the club participated in Copa del Rey. In 1909 the club registered for Copa Del Rey but there were some issues regarding the name and as a conclusion, the club was named Sociedad de Futbol on 7th September 1909.

In 1929 the club was a founder member of La Liga. In 1931 they changed the club’s name as Donostia Club de Ftubol with the advent of Second Spanish Republic, after the Spanish Civil War in 1939 they again changed the club’s name to Real Sociedad.

Coaching Staff

Name Position Age
Imanol Alguacil Manager 48
Luis Llopis Goalkeeping Manager 55
Karla Larbur Conditioning Manager 51



Name Position Age
Jokin Aperribay President 53
Roberto Olabe Sporting Director 52



Name Position
Alex Remiro Goalkeeper 1
Miguel Angel Moya Goalkeeper 13
Andoni Zubiaurre Goalkeeper 30
Joseba Zaldua Defender 2
Diego Llorente Defender 3
Eritz Elustondo Defender 6
Aihen Munoz Defender 12
Andoni Gorosabel Defender 18
Nacho Monreal Defender 20
Robil le Normand Defender 24
Asier Illarramendi Midfielder 4
Igor Zubeldia Midfielder 5
Micheal Portu Midfielder 7
Mikel Morino Midfielder 8
Mikel Oyarzabal Midfielder 10
Adnan Januzaj Midfielder 11
Ander Guevara Midfielder 16
David Zurutuza Midfielder 17
Martin Odegaard Midfielder 21
Luca Sangalli Midfielder 23
Willian Jose Forward 9
Alexander Isak Forward 19
Ander Barrenetxea Forward 22




La Liga

Winners (2): 1980-81, 1981-82

Runners-up (3): 1979, 1987-88, 2002-03


Copa Del Rey

Winners (2): 1909, 1986-87

Runners-up (5): 1910, 1913, 1928, 1957, 1987-88.