Olympique Lyonnais History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors


Olympique Lyonnais (French elocution: ​[ɔlɛ̃pik ljɔnɛ]), commonly known to as simply Lyon or OL, is a French proficient football club based in Lyon in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, It plays in France’s most noteworthy football division, Ligue 1. The club was shaped as Lyon Olympique Universitaire in 1899, concurring to numerous supporters and sport history specialists, but was nationally set up as a club in 1950


Olympique Lyonnais was at first shaped under the multisports club Lyon Olympique Universitaire, which was initially shaped in 1896 as Racing Club de Lyon. Taking after various inside differences with respect to the cohabitation of beginners and experts inside the club, then-manager of the club Félix Louot and his escort contemplated shaping their own club. On 3 August 1950, Louot’s arrangement came to fulfilment when Olympique Lyonnais was formally established by Dr Albert Trillat and various others. The club’s first chief was Oscar Heisserer and, on 26 August 1950, played its first official match vanquishing CA Paris-Charenton 3–0 before 3,000 supporters.

In just the club’s second year of presence, Lyon has delegated winner of the moment division, securing advancement to the primary division. The club kept up its first division put for the leftover portion of the decade, excluding a year’s stretch within the second division for the 1953–54 season. The club’s most fruitful period has been the 21st century. The club won its first Ligue 1 championship in 2002, beginning a national record-setting streak of seven progressive titles. Lyon has too won eight Trophées des Champions, five Cars de France and three Ligue 2 titles.


Olympique Lyonnais is possessed by Rhône businessman Jean-Michel Aulas, who procured the club on 15 June 1987. He serves as the author and chief working officer of CEGID (Compagnie Européenne de Gestion standard l’Informatique Décentralisée). After freeing the club of its obligation, Aulas rebuilt the club’s administration and revamped the accounts and, in a span of two decades, changed the club from a second division group into one of the wealthiest football clubs within the world. In any case, Aulas has been lambasted by pundits for running the club as if it were a trade. The club right now works on the European Stock Trade beneath the title OL Groupe, initialled OLG.

In April 2008, trade magazine Forbes positioned Lyon as the thirteenth most profitable football group within the world. The magazine esteemed the club at $408 million (€275.6M), barring debt. In February 2009, Lyon was evaluated within the 12th spot within the Deloitte Football Money League, allegedly bringing in a yearly income of €155.7 million for the 2007–08 season, which positions among the world’s best football clubs in terms of income.

Coaching Staff

Name Position Age
Rudi Garcia Manager 56
Gérald Baticle Assistant Manager 50
Caçapa Assistant Manager 43
Claude Fichaux Assistant Manager 50
Grégory Coupet Goalkeepin Manager 47


Medical Staff

Name Position Age
Sylvain Rousseau Physiotherapist 52
Abdeljelil Redissi Physiotherapist 53
Antonio da Fonseca Physiotherapist
Dimitri Farbos Physiotherapist



Name Position Age
Jean-Michel Aulas
Bernard Lacombe Board member 67
Juninho Pernambucano
Sporting Director 45
Christophe Toni Team coordinator 39



Name Position Age
Christophe Dessy
Chief Scout
Florian Maurice Head of Scouting 46
Marcelo Djian
Scout 53



Name Position Age
Anthony Lopes
Ciprian Tatarusanu Goalkeeper 30
Anthony Racioppi Goalkeeper 16
Joachim Andersen Defender 3
Jason Denayer Defender 5
Marcelo Defender 6
Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa Defender 2
Oumar Solet Defender 26
Youssouf Koné Defender 28
Marçal Defender 20
Léo Dubois Defender 14
Rafael Defender 4
Kenny Tete Defender 23
Thiago Mendes Midfielder 12
Lucas Tousar Midfielder 29
Houssem Aouar Midfielder 8
Jeff Reine-Adélaïde Midfielder 17
Bruno Guimarães Midfielder 39
Maxence Caqueret Midfielder 25
Jean Lucas Midfielder 12
Rayan Cherki Midfielder 18
Memphis Depay Forward 11
Martin Terrier Forward 7
Maxwel Cornet Forward 27
Bertrand Traoré Forward 10
Moussa Dembélé Forward 9
Karl Toko Ekambi Forward 21
Amine Gouiri Forward 19





  • Ligue 1

Winners (7): 2001–02, 2002–03, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2007–08

Runners-up (5): 1994–95, 2000–01, 2009–10, 2014–15, 2015–16

  • Ligue 2

Winners (3): 1950–51, 1953–54, 1988–89


  • Coupe de France

Winners (5): 1963–64, 1966–67, 1972–73, 2007–08, 2011–12

Runners-up (3): 1962–63, 1970–71, 1975–76

  • Coupe de la Ligue

Winners (1): 2000–01

Runners-up (4): 1995–96, 2006–07, 2011–12, 2013–14

  • Trophée des Champions

Winners (8): 1973, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2012

Runners-up (4): 1967, 2008, 2015, 2016

International competitions

  • UEFA Champions League
    • Semi-finalists(1): 2009–10
  • UEFA Europa League
    • Semi-finalists(1): 2016–17
  • UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup
    • Semi-finalists(1): 1963–64
  • UEFA Intertoto Cup
    • Winners (1):1997