Bayer 04 Leverkusen History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors




Bayer 04 Leverkusen GmbH, is also called as Bayer 04 Leverkusen is a German football club originated in Leverkusen, North Rhine-Westphalia. The club is a part of Bundesliga, the top tier of German football, and their home matches are conducted at the BayArena.

The club was established in 1904 by the workers of the German pharmaceutical company Bayer, whose headquarters are in Leverkusen and that’s how the club got its name. It was earlier the best-known department of TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen, a sports union whose members also participate in athletics, gymnastics, basketball and other sports including the RTHC Bayer Leverkusen (rowing, tennis, and hockey). In 1999 the football department was separated from the sports club and is now a separate entity formally called Bayer 04 Leverkusen GmbH. The club’s main colours are red and black, both having been used as the main shirt colour and with red and black stripes also having been used as home colours

Bayer Leverkusen has won one DFB-Pokal and one UEFA Cup. Their local rivals are 1. FC Köln.


On 27 November 1903, Wilhelm Hauschild wrote a letter to his employer the Friedrich Bayer and Co asking the company’s support in starting a sports club. The letter was supported and signed by 170 other workers, The company accepted their proposal and offered to support the initiative, and it was on the 1st of July 1904 that Turn- und Spielverein Bayer 04 Leverkusen was founded.  On 31 May 1907, a different football department was created within the club, the footballers also created a separate association – Sportvereinigung Bayer 04 Leverkusen – that also comprised of the handball and fistball players, athletics, and boxing, whereas the gymnasts continued on as Tue Bayer 04 LeverkusenSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen took with them the club’s traditional colours of red and black, with the gymnasts adopting blue and yellow.


In 1999 the football department was separated from the sports club and is now a separate entity formally called Bayer 04 Leverkusen GmbH. The Club’s squad value is 445m Euros as recorded by Trnsfermarkt.

Coaching Staff

name Position Age
Peter Bosz Manager 56
Assistant Manager 53
Hendrie Krüzen Assistant Manager 55
Goalkeeping Coach 35
Athletic Coach 41
Marcel Daum Video Analyst 34


Name Position Age
Rudi Völler Managing Director of Sport 59
Sporting Director 38
Head of Football Operations 67
Fernando Carro Chairman of the Board 55
Jochen A. Rotthaus Director of Marketing and Sales 67


No. Position Player
1 GK Lukáš Hrádecký
4 DF Jonathan Tah
5 MF Sven Bender
6 DF Aleksandar Dragović
7 FW Paulinho
8 MF Lars Bender (captain)
9 FW Leon Bailey
10 MF Kerem Demirbay
11 MF Nadiem Amiri
12 DF Edmond Tapsoba
13 FW Lucas Alario
15 MF Julian Baumgartlinger
18 DF Wendell (vice-captain)
19 DF Moussa Diaby
20 FW Charles Aránguiz
22 MF Daley Sinkgraven
23 DF Mitchell Weiser
25 DF Exequiel Palacios
28 GK Ramazan Özcan
29 MF Kai Havertz
31 FW Kevin Volland
35 MF Adrian Stanilewicz
36 GK Niklas Lomb
38 MF Karim Bellarabi (3rd captain)






  • Runners-up: 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2001–02, 2010–11
  1. Bundesliga North:
  • Winners: 1978–79



  • Winners: 1992–93
  • Runners-up: 2001–02, 2008–09


  • Runners-up: 1993



  • Winners: 1987–88

UEFA Champions League:

  • Runners-up: 2001–02


  • German Under 19 championship
    • Champions: 1986, 2000, 2007
    • Runners-up: 1995, 2001, 2003, 2010
  • German Under 17 championship
    • Champions: 1992, 2016
  • Under 19 Bundesliga West
    • Champions: 2007, 2010