ODI World Cup 2023: Virat Kohli is Among 5 Veterans Who are Bridging the Decade Gap

Virat Kohli

As the 2023 ODI World Cup approaches, it marks the end of an era in one-day international cricket. Several seasoned players, though active in franchise T20 leagues, might bid farewell to their international careers. This event draws a sharp contrast to the 2011 edition, which was a pinnacle moment for ODI cricket when T20 was still on the ascent.

Also Read: Total Distance Covered by Virat Kohli While Running Between the Wickets

A select few have managed to span the 12-year gap between the 2011 and 2023 editions, a testament to their longevity in terms of form and fitness. Here are five such players:

Virat Kohli – India

Virat Kohli, who debuted as a rookie in the 2011 edition after winning the U-19 World Cup in 2008, showcased his potential with a century on his World Cup debut against Bangladesh. In that tournament, he scored 282 runs in nine matches, foreshadowing his rise as one of the greatest batters of all time. Now, as a premier player for Team India in the 2023 edition, it may well be his final World Cup.

David Warner – Australia

David Warner, a prolific all-format player for Australia, is nearing the twilight of his international career. Having announced his retirement from Test cricket, the 2023 ODI World Cup might mark his final foray in 50-over cricket. While he missed the 2011 World Cup, he played vital roles in Australia’s triumph in 2015 and their semi-final appearance in 2019.

Steve Smith – Australia

Steve Smith’s transformation over the past 12 years is remarkable. He appeared in the 2011 edition as an all-rounder batting in the lower-middle order, scoring 53 runs and picking up a wicket. Today, he’s recognized as one of the greatest Test batters of this generation, with solid ODI numbers. Like Warner, he played pivotal roles in subsequent World Cup campaigns for Australia.

Kane Williamson – New Zealand

Kane Williamson’s 2023 ODI World Cup participation was in doubt due to a major knee injury earlier in the year. However, he’s seemingly overcome it to feature in his fourth ODI World Cup. Debuting in late 2010, he made his mark in the 2011 edition, scoring 99 runs in four matches. Williamson went on to play crucial roles in New Zealand’s journey to two World Cup finals and was the Player of the Tournament in 2019.

Adil Rashid – England

England’s Adil Rashid, a spinner with a crucial role in subcontinent conditions, featured in the 2019 World Cup after an eight-year wait. He played in all of England’s matches, taking 11 wickets at an economy rate of 5.72. His presence will be vital once again in the 2023 edition.

With the squads for the tournament yet to be finalized by all teams, the September 28 deadline for squad submissions will bring new faces into the spotlight.