NZ announce 13-member Test squad for series against India


NZ announce 13-member Test squad for series against India

New Zealand has announced its team for the Test series against India.
The Kiwis will play their dependable pace trio, which features rising star Kylie Jamieson, in the upcoming two-match Test series against the Men in Blue, which starts at the Basin Reserve from February 21 in Wellington.

Left-arm seamer Trent Boult is also included in the 13-man squad. He was injured after he had sustained bruises on his right hand during the Boxing Day Test held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Since he has recovered, he has been included in the Test series team as well.

Kyle Jamieson has become a Kiwi favorite after he joined the team mid-tour in December to replace Lockie Ferguson during the tour against Australia. He made an impressive debut in the ODI series against India. Left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel also makes his return into the 13-man squad.


Coach Gary Stead stated to that he is quite proud of the team selected, saying that the variety and options in the squad are enough to face any challenges thrown to the Kiwis by the Indian cricket team.

“With a squad of 13, we’ve put a priority on balance and making sure we have the needed variety and different options depending on the pitch conditions at the Basin Reserve.”

“It’s terrific to have Trent back with us, and we’re looking forward to the energy and experience he adds to the group alongside his obvious class with the ball in hand,” Stead added.


Former skipper Ross Taylor is set to become the fourth Kiwi player to play 100 Tests, joining the other New Zealand cricketers such as Brendon McCullum, Daniel Vettori, and Stephen Fleming.

Stead hailed Taylor’s 100-Test achievement as well.

“To play 100 Tests for your country is an incredible achievement and a testament to his work ethic and complete professionalism.”

New Zealand Test squad
Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner.