Inter Milan History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors



One of Italian most famous club,  Internazionale Milano, commonly referred to as Internazionale or simply Inter, and called as Inter Milan outside Italy, is an Italian professional football club rooted in Milan, Lombardy. Inter is the only Italian club to have never been transferred from the top flight. The club is one of the most valuable in Italian and world football.

The club was established in 1908 following a split within the Milan Cricket and Football Club (Which is now A.C. Milan), The club won its first championship in 1910 and since its inception, the club has won 30 domestic trophies, including 18 league titles, 7 Coppa Italia and 5 Supercoppa Italiana. There was a phase between 2006 to 2010, where Inter won five successive league titles, which is the all-time record at that time. They have also won the Champions League three times including two back-to-back in 1964 and 1965 and then another in 2010. Their latest win completed an unprecedented Italian seasonal treble, with Inter winning the Coppa Italia and the Scudetto the same year. The club has also won three UEFA Cups, two Intercontinental Cups, and one FIFA Club World Cup.

Speaking of the home matches, Inter’s home games are played at the San Siro stadium, which they share with local rivals A.C. Milan. San Siro is the largest in Italian football with a capacity of 80,018. The Matches held between A.C. Milan and Inter, are known as the Derby Della Madonnina, are one of the most followed derbies in football. As of 2019, Inter has the highest home game attendance in Italy and the sixth-highest attendance in Europe


In 1922, Inter remained in the top league after winning two play-offs. Six years later, during the Fascist era, the club was compelled to collab with the Unione Sportiva Milanese and was renamed to Società Sportiva Ambrosiana. The team donned white jerseys during those. It was in 1929, that the club’s chairman Oreste Simonotti changed the club’s name to Associazione Sportiva Ambrosiana, however, fans continued to call the team Inter, and in 1931 new chairman Pozzani paved in to as a shareholder and changed the name to Associazione Sportiva Ambrosiana-Inter.

The club won its first Coppa Italia (Italian Cup) in 1938–39, headed by legend Giuseppe Meazza, after whom the San Siro stadium is officially named. However, despite Meazza suffering an injury, the fifth championship still was continued in 1940. And post the end of World War II the club regained its original name, winning its sixth championship in 1953 and it’s seventh in 1954.

Coaching Staff

Position Name
Head coach  Antonio Conte
Vice coach  Cristian Stellini
Technical assistant  Gianluca Conte
Technical assistant  Paolo Vanoli
Fitness coach  Costantino Coratti
Fitness coach  Antonio Pintus
Fitness coach  Julio Tous
Goalkeeper coach  Adriano Bonaiut



Position Name
Head nutritionist  Matteo Pincella
Football analysis manager  Michele Salzarulo
Fitness data analyst  Giuseppe Bellistri
Technical-tactical analyst  Alessandro Davite
Technical-tactical analyst  Giacomo Toninato
Head of medical staff  Piero Volpi
Squad doctor  Alessandro Corsini
Squad doctor  Luca Pulici
Squad doctor  Alessandro Quaglia
Physiotherapists coordinator  Marco Dellacasa
Physiotherapist  Leonardo Arici
Physiotherapist  Ramon Cavallin
Physiotherapist  Dario Fort
Physiotherapist  Andrea Galli
Physiotherapist/Osteopath  Andrea Veschi
Functional rehab  Andrea Belli



No. Position Player
1 GK Samir Handanović (captain)
2 DF Diego Godín
5 MF Roberto Gagliardini
6 DF Stefan de Vrij
7 FW Alexis Sánchez (on loan from Manchester United)
8 MF Matías Vecino
9 FW Romelu Lukaku
10 FW Lautaro Martínez
11 MF Victor Moses (on loan from Chelsea)
12 MF Stefano Sensi (on loan from Sassuolo)
13 DF Andrea Ranocchia (vice-captain)
15 DF Ashley Young
18 MF Kwadwo Asamoah
20 MF Borja Valero
23 MF Nicolò Barella (on loan from Cagliari)
24 MF Christian Eriksen
27 GK Daniele Padelli
30 FW Sebastiano Esposito
31 DF Lorenzo Pirola
32 MF Lucien Agoumé
33 DF Danilo D’Ambrosio
34 MF Cristiano Biraghi (on loan from Fiorentina)
37 DF Milan Škriniar
46 GK Tommaso Berni
77 MF Marcelo Brozović
87 MF Antonio Candreva
95 DF Alessandro Bastoni



Serie A

Type Competition Titles Seasons
Domestic Serie A 18 1909–10, 1919–20, 1929–30, 1937–38, 1939–40, 1952–53, 1953–54, 1962–63, 1964–65, 1965–66, 1970–71, 1979–80, 1988–89, 2005–06,[nb 1] 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2009–10
Coppa Italia 7 1938–39, 1977–78, 1981–82, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2009–10, 2010–11
Supercoppa Italiana 5 1989, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010
Continental European Cup / UEFA Champions League 3 1963–64, 1964–65, 2009–10
UEFA Cup 3 1990–91, 1993–94, 1997–98
Worldwide Intercontinental Cup 2 1964, 1965
FIFA Club World Cup 1 2010