IND Vs AUS 1st ODI : Men in Blue bowl out Australia for 188 at Wankhede Stadium!

IND Vs AUS 1st ODI : Men in Blue bowl out Australia for 188 at Wankhede Stadium!

After securing their back-to-back 4th Border-Gavaskar trophy by the same scoreline of 2-1, India welcomed Australia for the 1st ODI of the 3-match ODI series here at Wankhede Stadium. Stand by Captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and elected to bowl first in a batting friendly pitch with hopes of restricting the Aussies to a low total of 188.

His side were able to bowl Australia out for just 188 runs despite a good start by the Aussie Top-order. Barring Travis Head’s departure for 5 his opening partner Mitchell Marsh smashed a quick fire 81 off 65 balls and he needed to stick to the crease for longer and he could have given more problems to India’s attack.

However, Marsh failed to capitalize on his emphatic start got caught out by Ravindra Jadeja after scoring Ten 4’s and 5 Gigantic 6’s. He was the highest scorer for Australia today and no other batter could score more than 30 runs.

Steve Smith departed for 22 off 30 while Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis all flopped and shared 88 runs between them.

The Aussies became recipients to India’s pacey outrage featuring Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj who shared 6 wickets between them. Today it was Siraj who landed the first blow by removing Travis Head and got the wickets of 2 tailenders – Sean Abott and Adam Zampa.

Mohammad Shami on the other hand picked 3 very important wickets of Cameron Green, Josh Inglis and the dangerous Marcus Stoinis. Captain Hardik Pandya’s only wicket was of the opposing captain Smith for 22. In terms of spin, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav remained economical and helped the pacers in the cause.

Jadeja’s first wicket of the day was the very well set Mitchell Marsh for 81 and also got rid of Glenn Maxwell who is well-known for tearing through bowling attacks. India will now chase down 189 runs with a new opening partnership of Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan.