ICC Test Rankings Updated – Virat Kohli grabs the No.1 spot from Steve Smith


The Indian skipper Virat Kohli has overtaken Australia’s Steve Smith to become the No.1 Test batsman in the ICC rankings that were updated earlier today. The 31-year-old run-machine went past Smith after his century against Bangladesh in the Day-night Test at Eden Gardens. This was also the first century by an Indian under the floodlights.

Smith had snatched away Kohli’s long-held numero uno position after this splendid 774 runs from 4 Tests in the Ashes series against England. But with the pink-ball century, and the double century before that against South Africa, the Indian batsman is back to rule the world Test rankings. Smith, in contrast, managed only 4 and 36 in a 2-Test series against Pakistan last week. With this, Smith dropped three points on the table.

The Test matches for Kohli in 2019 have come to an end, with India’s next assignment being against New Zealand in January. The right-hander has 7202 runs and 27 hundred from 84 Tests so far, and is currently at the peak of his performance. Smith, Kohli’s top competitor with 7013 runs and 26 hundred from 70 Tests, missed out on a few games during his one-year suspension following ball-tampering.

Among the other changes, Smith’s teammate David Warner has risen 12 spots to 5th on the rankings after his marathon 335 not out in the Adelaide Pink ball Test. Marnus Labuschagne, on the other hand, is now ranked no. 8.

India vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, who was at no. 5, has dropped down a point and is now ranked 6th. India boast of three Indians in the top 10 with Virat Kohli leading the list and Cheteshwar Pujara at four and Rahane at six.

Also, Babar Azam’s fine outings in Australia has helped him rise two spots to the 13th position. He scored his 2nd Test hundred in The Gabba Test and a knock of 97 in the Adelaide Day-night Test.

Top 10 batsman in ICC Test rankings

  1. Virat Kohli – 928
  2. Steve Smith – 923
  3. Kane Williamson – 877
  4. Cheteshwar Pujara – 791
  5. David Warner – 764
  6. Ajinkya Rahane – 759
  7. Joe Root – 752
  8. Marnus Labuschagne – 731
  9. Henry Nicholls – 726
  10. Dimuth Karunaratne – 723


Leave a Reply