Gautam Gambhir, Madan Lal all set to be CAC members


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to make some changes in their Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) as some of the existing members will be stepping out of their respective positions. The two names that have been added to the list of members, who will be inducted in the CAC as the new members, are former Indian cricketers Gautam Gambhir and Madan Lal.gautam-gambhir-appoint-cac-members

The news has been confirmed by one of the top officials of the country’s governing body and said that Gambhir and Lal have been chosen with no confusion whatsoever. Meanwhile, a third name that has come out is of Sulakshna Naik, an Indian women’s cricketer who has represented India in 2 Tests and 46 ODIs. But her name has not been confirmed yet.

“Madan Lal and Gautam Gambhir are all set to be the CAC members,” a senior BCCI official said. 

According to reports, one of the heroes of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, Lal, would be heading the committee because he is a senior while Gambhir and the third member will assist him in picking up selection committees for the next four years, starting from next year.

Since no official confirmation has come from the board, Lal is not ready to make a comment on it and noted that he will only make a statement when an official confirmation from BCCI has come.Madan-Lal-appoints-cac-members

“I don’t know if it’s fair on my part to make a formal comment or not as BCCI has not announced,” said Madan Lal said on the development.

On the other hand, a source closer to the cricketer confirmed that Lal indeed has been approached by the board and offered him the position. The source further stated that Lal is ready to take the mantle and shared that it will be an honor for him to be heading the committee.

Yes, they did ask Madan for his consent and he had told them it will be an honor to be on CAC. It doesn’t matter if it’s one meeting or half a meeting,” added the source.

The outgoing members are the chief-selector and chairman of CAC MSK Prasad (South) and Gagan Khoda (Central). All the heads of the other regions still have one year left in their respective four-year teams.