Sourav Ganguly Confirms New Selection Panel Will Select India’s Squad for South Africa Series

sourav ganguly


Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly has recently confirmed that the new selection panel will select the Team India squad for the upcoming limited-overs series against South Africa on Tuesday. After a rather forgettable series in New Zealand, the Virat Kohli-led side will look forward to bouncing back against Proteas for three-match One Day Internationals where the series opener is scheduled to take place on March 12.

India only managed to win the T20I series against New Zealand by 5-0. Though they made history by registering their first T20I series on New Zealand soil, the hosts won the ODIs and Test series convincingly against India.

madan lal rp singh

Sourav Ganguly, who arrived at the cricketing body’s headquarter in Mumbai for the meeting of Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) earlier today, also said that the three-member panel made of former India cricketers Madan Lal, RP Singh, and Sulakshana Naik will take interviews to replace outgoing chief selectors MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda.

The BCCI chief, Ganguly further declared that the onus will be on the new selection committee to pick the Team India squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against South Africa.

“The interviews will be conducted tomorrow,” Sourav Ganguly was quoted as saying news agency ANI.

However, the meeting between the BCCI officials and the newly-appointed three CAC members took place at the BCCI headquarters on Tuesday. Along with Sourav Ganguly, BCCI secretary Jay Shah and Indian Premier League’s (IPL) chairman Brijesh Patel were also present in the high-profile meeting.

As far as the upcoming schedule is concerned, India will play the first One Day International against the Proteas at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala on March 12. While the first ODI will be played in Dharamsala, the second One Day International match will be played in¬†Lucknow’s Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium on March 15. The third and final One Day International will be played contested at the famous Eden Gardens in Kolkata on March 18.