BCCI announces- Madan Lal, RP Singh, Sulakshana in new CAC

new cac members

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has appointed three members of the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) on Friday 31 January. Madan Lal, the all-rounder of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, the 2007 T20 World Cup Indian team paceman RP Singh and former women’s cricketer Sulakshana Naik have been included in the three-member Cricket Advisory Committee by the BCCI.¬†According to the BCCI statement, the tenure of the members of the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), will be for a year.madan-lal-BCCI-cac

The BCCI was not able to form the CAC till now due to conflict of interest. It is also to be noted that Kapil Dev lead CAC along with Shanta Rangaswamy and Anshuman Gaikwad, stepped down after being accused of a conflict of interest.

Sourav Ganguly became the chairman on 23 October 2019. This committee is formed exactly 100 days after he became the BCCI chief. It was earlier reported on January 12 that Gautam Gambhir would be included in the committee along with Madan Lal and Sulakshana Naik, but this did not happen since Gambhir is a member of Parliament and therefore RP Singh replaced him in CAC.R.P-singh-cac

The CAC will have to select the selectors to replace two members who have completed their tenure in the Senior Selection Committee for the time being. The CAC will have to explore the options of outgoing chairman MSK Prasad (South Zone) and Gagan Khoda (Central Region). At the same time, the remaining 3 members of Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi have only one year left in their tenure.

The new selection committee will select the Indian team for the series to be held with South Africa. The names of Ajit Agarkar and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan are mentioned for joining the selection committee.

Madan Lal played 39 Tests and 67 ODIs for India. He was part of the 1983 World Cup-winning Indian team. After this, he has also coached the national team. Along with this, he was also a member of the selection committee.

RP Singh played 14 Tests and 58 One-Day and 10 T20 International matches. He was part of the Indian team that won the first World T20 in 2007.

As far as women cricketer Sulakshana Naik is concerned she has represented India in two Tests, 46 One-Day and 31 T20s in her 11-year long international career.