Four teams to take part in Women’s IPL in 2020


The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the schedule for the 2020 Women’s IPL matches. The Women’s IPL tournament has grown by leaps and bounds over the years starting from a single match in 2018 to three matches in 2019. The 2020 version of the games will have seven matches against the teams. All matches will be likely held at Jaipur once again this year.

A senior official, who is associated with the cash-rich IPL T20 League, confirmed the venue and the schedules on Friday when he said,

“There would be seven matches between four teams in the women’s IPL and Jaipur is likely to host them.”

womens ipl 2020

When the matches were held in Jaipur last year, three teams had featured in the tournament and they had played two matches each. There were three “knock-off” rounds, and the winners of the knock-offs played in the finals against each other. The three teams were the IPL Supernovas, the IPL Trailblazers, and the IPL Velocity. The finals were played between IPL Velocity and IPL Supernovas, with the latter winning by 4 wickets.

The 2020 version of the Women’s IPL 2020 will have four teams participating in it this season. All matches are purportedly set to take place at Jaipur’s Sawai Mansingh Stadium, though a final decision on it is yet to be taken.

The official who commented on the Women’s IPL also stated that the All-Star match, which was going to take place before the IPL, will now take place after it. When talking about the original plan for the All-Star match as scrapped, the official simply said,

“The venue for the match is yet to be finalised. We will have to see the performances of the players (and then select) them.”

Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI’s current chief, has stated his interest in making the Women’s IPL a 7-team tournament.

“You need to understand the practicality of it. You need a lot more women players. I see that in four years’ time, to get a seven-team IPL with the best women players [in participation].”