Bayern Leverkusen History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors



Bayern 04 Leverkusen football  GmbH, too known as Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Bayer Leverkusen, Leverkusen or essentially Bayer, maybe a German football club based in Leverkusen, North Rhine-Westphalia. The club plays within the Bundesliga, the top tier of German football, and hosts match at the BayArena


The club was established in 1904 by workers of the German pharmaceutical company Bayer, whose central command is in Leverkusen and from which the club draws its title. It was once in the past the best-known division of TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen, a sports club whose individuals to take part in games, acrobatic, ball and other sports counting the RTHC Bayer Leverkusen (paddling, tennis, and hockey). On 27 November 1903, Wilhelm Hauschild composed a letter – marked by 170 of his individual specialists – to his boss, the Friedrich Bayer, and Co., looking for the company’s back in beginning a sports club.

The company concurred to bolster the activity, and on 1 July 1904 Turn- und Spielverein Bayer 04 Leverkusen was founded On 31 May 1907, an isolated football office was shaped inside the club. Within the culture of sports in Germany at the time, there was noteworthy ill will between gymnasts and other sorts of competitors. Inevitably this contributed to a part inside the club:: on 8 June 1928, the footballers shaped a partitioned affiliation – Sportvereinigung Bayer 04 Leverkusen – that moreover included the handball and fistball players, sports, and boxing, whereas the gymnasts carried on as Tue Bayer 04 Leverkusen. SV Bayer 04 Leverkusen took with them the club’s conventional colors of ruddy and dark, with the gymnasts embracing blue and yellow. Through this period, and into the 1930s, SV Bayer 04 Leverkusen played third and fourth division football In 1936, they earned advancement to the moment the most noteworthy course of play of the period. That was moreover the year that the club wore the recognizable “Bayer” cross for the primary time. They made there, to begin with, an appearance in upper league play in 1951, within the Oberliga West and played there until 1956, after which they were relegated.


Coaching Staff

Name Position
Markus von ahlen




Iraklis metaxas




Patrick weiser




Jan hoepner





Johann rieckhof


Kai braun


Athletic trainer


Till rothweiler




Severin feldmann




Ingo goetze


Sport psychology




Name Position Age

Fernando carro de prada –




Rudi völler –


Managing director sports 1960

Fabian otto – 

Director of finance/personnel



Simon pallmann –

Director of business operations



Simon rolfes –


Director of sport 1982

Dr. Bernd schröder –

Director of marketing and sales



Meinolf sprink – 


Director of fans/community 1958

Holger tromp –

Director of communications



Dr. Karl-heinrich dittmar –

Medical director



Lars küpper –

Head of legal affairs / compliance / institutional relations





No. Position Player
1 GK Lukáš Hrádecký
4 DF Jonathan Tah
5 MF Sven Bender
6 DF Aleksandar Dragović
7 FW Paulinho
8 MF Lars Bender (captain)
9 FW Leon Bailey
10 MF Kerem Demirbay
11 MF Nadiem Amiri
12 DF Edmond Tapsoba
13 FW Lucas Alario
15 MF Julian Baumgartlinger
18 DF Wendell (vice-captain)
19 FW Moussa Diaby
20 MF Charles Aránguiz
22 DF Daley Sinkgraven
23 DF Mitchell Weiser
25 MF Exequiel Palacios 
28 GK Ramazan Özcan
29 MF Kai Havertz
31 FW Kevin Volland
35 MF Adrian Stanilewicz
36 GK Niklas Lomb
38 MF Karim Bellarabi (3rd captain)






  • Runners-up: 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2001–02, 2010–11

Bundesliga North:

  • Winners: 1978–79



  • Winners: 1992–93
  • Runners-up: 2001–02, 2008–09


  • Runners-up: 1993



  • Winners: 1987–88

UEFA Champions League:

  • Runners-up: 2001–02


German Under 19 championship

  • Champions: 1986, 2000, 2007
  • Runners-up: 1995, 2001, 2003, 2010
  • German Under 17 championship
    • Champions: 1992, 2016
  • Under 19 Bundesliga West
    • Champions: 2007, 2010

In Europe

Competition Played W D L GF GA GD Win%
UEFA Champions League 94 36 19 39 133 154 −21 38.30
UEFA Europa League 92 43 23 26 141 85 +56 46.74
UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup 6 3 2 1 15 8 +7 50.00
Total 192 82 44 66 289 247 +42 42.71