Anrich Nortje and Shabnim Ismail Win Top Honors at Cricket South Africa Awards

Cricket South Africa Awards

Anrich Nortje and Shabnim Ismail, two exceptional talents in South African cricket, have been crowned the Men’s and Women’s Cricketers of the Year, respectively, at the highly anticipated Cricket South Africa Awards ceremony held in Midrand on Friday. This marks their second consecutive triumph at the CSA Awards since their impressive victories in 2021. Notably, Shabnim Ismail’s remarkable achievement is further enhanced as she has now claimed this prestigious title for the third time.

Also Read: 3 Indian Umpires getting the Honour to Officiate in the Ashes

The recently-retired Shabnim Ismail’s impeccable performance in the home T20 World Cup final held in February secured her a well-deserved place among the cricketing elite. Displaying her exceptional bowling skills, Ismail snatched an astounding eight wickets in just six matches, all while maintaining an impressive economy rate of 5.86.

Meanwhile, Anrich Nortje’s consistent dominance across different formats of the game has made him an indomitable force for South Africa. Alongside his renowned partner-in-crime, Kagiso Rabada, Nortje’s remarkable performance led him to be recognized as the Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year.

The CSA Awards also highlighted the outstanding contributions of other exceptional players. Temba Bavuma was honoured as the Men’s ODI Player of the Year, while the Men’s T20I award was granted to the brilliant Reeza Hendricks, who stunned the cricketing world with his back-to-back half-centuries against the formidable West Indies at home in March.

Nonkululeko Mlaba, a rising star in women’s cricket, was awarded the Women’s T20I Player of the Year for her exceptional performances. Known for her resilience during the powerplay overs, Mlaba demonstrated her bowling prowess during the home T20 World Cup, finishing with six wickets in as many games, boasting an average of 24.16 and an impressive strike rate of 6.59.

Additionally, the talented Laura Wolvaardt received the Women’s ODI Player of the Year award, recognizing her outstanding contributions to the sport.

Recognizing emerging talent, Gerald Coetzee, an exciting prospect in South African cricket, clinched the title of Men’s Newcomer of the Year. Coetzee’s notable achievements include making his Test and ODI debuts in March, where he made an immediate impact. In only his second Test match, the 22-year-old fast bowler claimed an impressive six-wicket haul, propelling South Africa to a resounding 284-run victory over West Indies in Johannesburg.

Coetzee’s remarkable performance also earned him the reputation of being Faf du Plessis’ go-to bowler at the Joburg Super Kings during the inaugural SA20 earlier this year.

Pholetsi Moseki, the Chief Executive Officer of Cricket South Africa, extended his heartfelt congratulations to all the winners, acknowledging their exceptional performances and the fierce competition among the candidates. Moseki commended the overall improvement seen across all national teams throughout the past season, as evidenced by their outstanding results.

As the curtain falls on the Cricket South Africa Awards, the cricketing world applauds the extraordinary achievements of Anrich Nortje, Shabnim Ismail, and all the other deserving winners who have left an indelible mark on the sport. Their dedication, skill, and passion continue to inspire a new generation of cricketers, ensuring that South Africa remains a force to be reckoned with in the realm of international cricket.

Cricket South Africa Awards 2023

Shabnim Ismail: SA Women’s Player of the Year
Nonkululeko Mlaba: Women’s T20I Player of the Year
Laura Wolvaardt: Women’s ODI Player of the Year
Nonkululeko Mlaba: Women’s Players’ Player of the Year
Anrich Nortje: SA Men’s Player of the Year
Kagiso Rabada: Test Player of the Year
Temba Bavuma: ODI Player of the Year
Reeza Hendricks: T20I Cricketer of the Year
Gerald Coetzee: International Men’s Newcomer of the Year
David Miller: SA Men Players’ Player of the Year
Sinalo Jafta: SA Fans’ Player of the Year
Kagiso Rabada: Best Delivery Fuelled by KFC