Wolverhampton Wanderers

Wolverhampton Wanderers FC

Also known as Wolves, Wolverhampton Wanderers is a top-tier English Premier League club which was found as St.Luke’s FC in 1877. Wolverhampton Wanderers are also considered as one of the founding members of the Football League in 1888. Though not a regular in the English top tier, Wolves have played 65 times in the top-tier domestic competition of England to date.


Wolverhampton Wanderers FC

The majority of the clubs in the English top-tier have different stories of their beginning. In the case of Wolves, one can consider it as one of the humblest beginnings. They had their one cricket team and church back then and the club was found as St Luke’s FC in 1877 by John Baynton and John Brodie.

Wolves, then as St Luke’s FC, played their first-ever game on 13 January 1877 against the reserve side of Stafford Road. However, the club was merged with that of local cricket tea to form the club.  By the end of the 1884 season, the club had gained substantial fame and fiscal power as they ended up shifting themselves to a pleasure park called as Molineux.

Club Ownership:

Wolverhampton Wanderers FC

At present, Wolverhampton Wanderers in handled and managed by the Chinese investment firm called Fosun International. On July 21, 2016, Fosun International bought the majority of the stakes of Wolverhampton Wanderers which was owned by Steve Morgan and his company Bridgemoere group. The change in ownership resulted in the termination of the manager, Kenny Jacket. New managers were tried and tested until the Portuguese gaffer, Nuno Esperito Santo was appointed. The appointment has brought the required changes and fortunes of the club as they take part in the Europa League.

Coaching staff and Management:

Name Position  Age
Head Coach Nuno Esperito Santo 46
Assistant Head Coach Rui Pedro Silva 42
First Team Coach Julio Aibar
First Team Coach Ian Cathro 44
Goalkeeping coach Rui Barbosa 46
Head of Recruitment John Marshall 55
Technical Recruitment Russell West
U-23 Head Coach Jamie Collins 41
Fitness Coach Antonio Dias 47


Name  Position Age
Rui Patricio Goalkeeper 32
John Ruddy Goalkeeper 33
Conor Coady Defender 26
Willy Boly  Defender 29
Max Kilman  Defender 22
John Otto  Defender 25
Matt Doherty  Defender 20
Ruben Vignare  Defender 28
Ruben Neves Midfielder 22
Leander Dendoncker Midfielder 22
Romain Saisss Midfielder 24
Joao Moutinho Midfielder 29
Morgan Gibbs White Midfielder 23
Enzo Loidoice Midfielder 20
Bruno Jordao Midfielder 21
Ming Yang Yang Midfielder 24
Diogo Jota Forward 23
Daniel Podence Forward 24
Adama Traore Forward 24
Pedro Neto Forward 19
Raul Jimenez Forward 28
Leonardo Campana Forward 19
Bright Enobhakre Forward 22

Medical Team and Staff

Head of Medical Department Phil Hayward
First Team Physiotherapist Ollie Leaper
First Team Sports Therapist Danny Fishwick
First Team Therapist Rui Fuste
Soft Tissue Therapist Matt Wignall
Rehabilitation Coach João Lapa
Club doctor Matthew Perry

Accolades and Honours:

League trophies: Football League First Division, superseded by the Premier League (Tier 1)

  • Champions 1953–54, 1957–58, 1958–59
  • Runners-up: 1937–38, 1938–39, 1949–50, 1954–55, 1959–60


  • Runners-up: 1971–72

FA Cup

  • Winners: 1892–93, 1907–08, 1948–49, 1959–60
  • Runners-up: 1888–89, 1895–96, 1920–21, 1938–39