Tata Open: Prajnesh and Nagal included in main draw


For the first time, two players from India have been included in the men’s singles main draw at South Asia’s only ATP Tour tournament – Tata Open Maharashtra. Apart from Prajnesh Gunneswaran, Sumit Nagal will also compete in the men’s singles in the third edition of the tournament to be held from February 3 to 9 at the Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex Stadium in Pune.pragnesh-tat-open-maharatasra

Nagal was earlier placed in the alternative list, but now he has been included in the main draw of the 20-man men’s singles. Prior to this, India’s number 1 singles player Prajnesh, had succeeded in making the place in the main draw after Poland’s Kamil Machzak withdrew from the tournament.

Apart from Nagal and Prajnesh, Davis Cup player and South Asian Games gold medalist Ramkumar Ramanathan has also been included in the men’s singles main draw through wildcard.SUMIT NAGAL-open-tata-maharastra

The draw was announced at the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) press conference held on Wednesday. Three wildcards were to be awarded for South Asia’s only ATP Tour tournament and the first wildcard in this order was given to India’s number-3 player Ramanathan.

ramanathan-antalya-tata-openTournament Director Prashant Sutar of Tata Open Maharashtra said, “We are happy to give wild card to Ramkumar. He is a very competitive player and I am sure he will be able to take full advantage of his presence in the men’s draw. Now the men’s singles main draw. I have top-3 players from India and this has strengthened India’s presence in this tournament. “

The 22-year-old Nagal is currently the 131st player in the world in the ATP rankings and in recent times has given a very impressive performance. For the first time, playing in a Grand Slam, at the 2019 US Open, Nagal won a set against the Swiss tennis player Roger Federer.

Ramanathan of Chennai caught everyone’s attention by defeating the world number-8 Dominic Thiem in a three-set match. Ramanathan is now set to participate in the Tata Open Maharashtra for the third time.