Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for West Indies ODIs, Dimuth Karunaratne to lead the side



Sri Lankan Cricket have announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against West Indies, slated to be held between 22nd February and 1st March 2020.

31-year old Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the side, while the likes of Thisara Parera and Niroshan Dickwella will mark their return in the team.

Talented youngster Avishka Fernando would like to relish the home conditions and make the most of the tour. Both Dimuth and Avishka would look to give good starts at the top and set the foundation for big totals. The middle-order comprises players like Kusal Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella and Angelo Mathews.


The addition of someone like Thisara Parera would help the side lay finishing touches lower down the order. Also, the experienced campaigner would be a handy option with the ball as well.

Fast bowler Isuru Udana is back in the mix, after being sidelined with a back injury in the first ODI against India in January. He will be accompanied by the likes of Nuwan Pradeep and Lahiru Kumara.

Meanwhile, players like Danusha Gunathilaka and opener Oshada Fernando have been missed out from the squad owing to their respective injuries. Danusha played a fine 133-run knock in the third ODI against Pakistan and the Islanders would have wanted him to be a part of the squad.

“Danushka has a back injury and has been ruled out of the West Indies series. He is under treatment and may require surgery. Niroshan’s case is not all that serious and we have retained him in the ODI squad and hope to play him in the second match onwards,” team manager and chief selector Ashantha de Mel was quoted as saying by

The first ODI will be played on 21st February 2020, while the second and third ODI will be held on 26th February and 1st March respectively. Post the T20 series, the two teams will play two T20 internationals between them, which will be held on 4th March and 6th March 2020.


Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara