Angelo Mathews picked up for T20I series against India

Sri Lanka has called back one of the most experienced players of the country Angelo Mathews into the T20 side for the upcoming series against India later this month. The Islanders will be looking to turn their fortunes by defeating India in their own backyard.

While announcing for the tour, the Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) has picked up Angelo Mathews to strengthen the batting department and can prove to be quite handy with the ball too. Mathews will be coming back into the team after a gap of 16 months.

The side led by the Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga is already on their way to India, the board confirmed through their official Twitter handle.

As for Mathews, his last game in the shortest format came against South Africa in the year 2018. Though there are some happy memories related to that game as he led his side to a three-wicket victory over the Proteas but sadly failed to impress by his individual performance. He scored a duck in the match.

On the other hand, Kasun Rajitha has also been included in the 16-member squad and will replace pacer Nuwan Pradeep in the side. Pradeep sustained an injury during practice and will not be part of the series.

The Islanders will be desperate for a win against India. The Lankan side has only won 2 out of the last 10 games they have played with the Men in Blue. Meanwhile, they haven’t managed to win a single bilateral T20 International series against India till now.

Last year, the side led by Malinga played a total of 5 series and could only manage to won 1 series against Pakistan. They are coming into this series after being defeated 3-0 by Australia.


The first T20I between India and Sri Lanka will be played on January 5 at Guwahati followed by matches on January 7 in Indore and January 10 in Pune.

Sri Lanka 16-member squad for tour to India: Lasith Malinga (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dhananjaya De Silva, Isuru Udana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kusal Mendis, and Lakshan Sandakan.