South African players likely to miss the initial stage of IPL 2020

IPL 2020 is all set to start from 19th September in UAE. There will be a meeting on 2nd August by IPL Governing Council to decide the venues, logistics and testing procedures which is mandatory before and after the match.

While it is good news for fans that IPL is happening this year but at the same time, South African players are likely to miss the initial stage of 13th edition of the cash-rich league.

The prime reason is South African government has imposed a lock-down in their country due to the rise in COVID-19 cases due to which International Travel remains prohibited until the end of September.

Several South African Players like Ab de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Dale Steyn, Chris Morris will miss the initial stage of the most popular domestic cricket league in the world.

Chris Morris will be playing for RCB this year who brought him for INR 10 Crores. The restrictions imposed will not have any effect on South African spinner Imran Tahir who is residing now in Pakistan and will play in all the matches of IPL this year for his franchise CSK.

As per the reports, the officials will send single flight for all nine South African players who will play this year of IPL 2020.

Let’s have a look at South African players who will take part in this year of IPL 2020:

SA players with IPL contracts – AB de Villiers (RCB), Quinton de Kock (MI), Dale Steyn (RCB), Chris Morris (RCB), Kagiso Rabada (DC), Lungi Ngidi (CSK), Faf Du Plessis (CSK), Imran Tahir (CSK), David Miller (RR), Hardus Viljoen (KXIP).