Pollard and Narine Make a Comeback in West Indies’s T20 squad

Pollard and Narine in West Indies’s T20 squad: The West Indies Cricket Board have announced the squad for the first two T20’s against India on Tuesday. Trinidadian cricketer, Sunil Narine has been included in the squad along with Keiron Pollard, for the T20 series, starting from August 3, 2019.

While Sunil Narine last played a T-20 for West Indies two years ago against England at Chester Lee-Street, all-rounder Kerion Pollard represented West Indies in T20s last year in November.

West Indies formidable all-rounder Andre Russell has also been included in the squad, however, he will undergo a fitness test before the start of the first game in Florida.

Pollard and Narine in West Indies’s T20 squad

Meanwhile, universal boss, Chris Gayle has opted himself out of the squad, making himself unavailable for the series as he will feature in upcoming Canada’s Global T-20 league.

This squad is an excellent balance of experience and youth,” interim chairman of the selection Panel Robert Haynes said. “It’s not just about the present but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title. We have to make sure that we put certain things in place now so that when it comes to picking the squad for the T20 World Cup, it becomes easier, so we are giving more players the opportunity to play and get the exposure.

We felt that players like Narine and Pollard, who have played well in T20 leagues around the World, once they are fit and mentally ready to play, we must give them the opportunity to represent the West Indies again.

Squad: John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite (c), Keemo Paul, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Andre Russell, Khary Pierre.

Earlier, All India Senior Selection Committee announced the Indian squad for the West Indies tour. The likes of Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, and Krunal Pandya made it to the squad in T20s.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan will make his comeback in the squad after being ruled out of the World Cup owing to a thumb injury. Also, India’s former skipper MS Dhoni has made himself unavailable for the series as he is set to dedicate the next two months to Parachute Regiment of Territorial Army.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

India’s squad for 2 Tests: Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav