Players with Fastest 50 in CPL

Fastest 50 in CPL

Batsmen with Fastest 50 in CPL

The world is divided between people- one who like cricket and one who don’t. But one thing that even the staunchest critics of Twenty20 cricket will accept the fact that twenty20 format is legit an entertaining one. Batsmen who are blessed with power-hitting abilities have made the format their own.

From driving the ball out of the park during the power play overs to smashing fearlessly during the death overs, batsmen have developed some absolute class batting style over the years in T20 cricket. And the same aspect reflects in arguably some of the best franchise-based T20 cricket leagues around the world.

Top 5 Batsmen with Fastest 50 in CPL

Here we bring to your top 5 batsmen who hit the fastest 50 marks in the entire CPL history


1) JP Duminy- Fastest 50: 15 balls

JP Duminy

JP Duminy slammed a 15-ball half-century which is to date the fastest in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) – as Barbados Tridents defeated defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders by 63 runs at Bridgetown in 2019. Duminy was all over the Kensington Oval. His 20-ball 65, comprised of six fours and seven sixes, which brought up an exceptional strike-rate of 325 and that assisted the Tridents post 192 runs with the loss of 5 wickets, followed by Johnson Charles and Jonathan Carter both scoring half-centuries as well.

The opposition Knight Riders were wrapped up for 129 in 17.4 overs. Duminy also played a vital role in the second innings. He took a stunning catch to help Raymon Reifer dismiss Colin Munro, and then returned 2/24 in 2.4 overs, including the final wicket of Ali Khan that secured Tridents’ first win at home this season.


2) Sohail Tanvir- Fastest fifty: 18 balls

Sohail Tanvir

Second in our list of the top 5 players to hit the fastest 50 in CPL history is Pakistani left-armed Sohail Tanvir. Sohail Tanvir was one of the stars of the 2014 Caribbean Premier League (CPL), setting the tournament alight by smashing the fastest half-century of the tournament in 18 balls while donning the jersey of St Lucia Zouks. His fastest fifty came with a strike rate of 263.15 while playing against the Tridents.


3) E Lewis- Fastest 50: 17 balls

Evin Lewis

It was a night of records in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) fixture between Jamaica Tallawahs and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots at Warner Park, Basseterre. When Lewis scripted a record for his own. While St Kitts.  Chased down the second-highest successful run chase in T20 history as they fought with a pile of runs, they chased 242 runs with seven balls to spare.

In the run chase, It was that match where Evin Lewis got a CPL record to his name as well scoring the fastest fifty in 17 balls in the tournament’s history and that makes Lewis the third player to reach the top 5 players to hit fastest 50 mark in the Caribbean Premier League.

4) K Pollard- Fastest 50: 18 balls

Kieron-Pollard CPL

Kieron Pollard too has made his name in the fastest fifty clubs in the history of the Caribbean Premier League. The St Lucia Stars skipper had achieved the feat against defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders. Pollard hit the fastest fifty mark off just 18 balls only to equal Sohail Tanvir’s record at that time.

The Pakistan fast-bowler had also whacked an 18-ball fifty for St Lucia Stars while he played in 2014. Later, Pollard scored 65 off just 23 balls to assist his side put up a daunting score of 212 for 2 in 120 balls. His unbeaten knock comprised of 1 boundary and seven sixes. Although, it looked like hard-hitting Pollard and Cornwall’s heroics turned into vain as Darren Bravo‘s amazing knock took the Knight Riders home of what turned out to be a thrilling turn.


5) Andre Russell- Fastest 50: 24 balls

Andre Russell

This man ought to be in every best of the best lists possible, or probably none of the records would go without his name. Andre Russell the man of power hitters is bound to hit the fastest centuries and half-centuries in whichever tournament he played at. It was the 2014 Caribbean Premier League, the Windies maestro was then a part of the Jamaica Tallawahs. Russell with his outstanding performance scored a 58 not out in 24 balls which included 3 boundaries and 6 out of the park sixers and a deadly strike rate of 241.66 and ripped off the Guyana Amazon Warriors at Kingston.

The Caribbean Premier League is all set to commence on August 18, 2020. It will consist of 6 teams playing a total of 33 T20 games with all matches taking place in Trinidad and Tobago. The Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba will host 23 games, including the semi-finals and the final, and the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain will host 10 matches. The finals of the season will be played on September 10th. The tournament will be played behind closed doors due to the onset of the pandemic.