Most Wickets in an IPL Season

Lasith Malinga most wickets in ipl

Most Wickets In An IPL Season

The Indian Premier League (IPL) isn’t just a batsman’s paradise. It is also the platform where exceptional bowlers weave their magic, bamboozling batsmen with their pace or spin, and variations. So, let’s check the IPL’s record books, exploring the top bowlers with the most wickets in a single IPL season.

Also Read: IPL Venues With Highest Seating Capacity

Harshal Patel and Dwayne Bravo (32 Wickets)

Harshal Patel, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) pacer, shares the coveted throne with the legendary Dwayne Bravo. In the 2021 season, Patel wreaked havoc, scalping a staggering 32 wickets in just 15 matches. His exceptional bowling average of 14.34 and a miserly economy rate of 8.14 speak volumes of his consistency. Notably, he achieved a hattrick against Mumbai Indians, dismissing the big-hitting trio of Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, and Rahul Chahar in quick succession.

Dwayne Bravo most wickets in ipl

Dwayne Bravo, the Caribbean all-rounder, isn’t far behind. In the 2013 season playing for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), he became the first bowler to reach the elusive mark of 32 wickets. Bowling in 18 matches, he averaged an impressive 15.53 and displayed his control with an economy rate of under 8. While CSK fell short in the finals against Mumbai Indians, Bravo’s contribution with the ball was undeniable, even picking up four wickets in the high-pressure final.

Kagiso Rabada (30 Wickets)

Kagiso Rabada, the fiery South African pacer, occupies the third position. In the 2020 IPL held in the UAE, Rabada picked up 30 wickets in 17 matches for Delhi Capitals. Despite his team reaching the finals, they fell short against Mumbai Indians. Rabada’s bowling average of 18.26 and an economy of 8.34 showcased his ability to take wickets even on pitches that favored batsmen.

Lasith Malinga (28 Wickets)

Lasith Malinga most wickets in ipl

Lasith Malinga, a name which we remember for pinpoint yorkers and death-over mastery, holds the fourth position. In the 2011 season, playing for Mumbai Indians, he picked up 28 wickets in just 16 matches. What made his feat even more remarkable was his phenomenal economy rate of 5.95, a testament to his ability to strangle batsmen in the slog overs. Malinga’s IPL career culminated in a dramatic final in 2019, where his last-ball dismissal of Shardul Thakur secured a thrilling one-run victory for Mumbai Indians.

James Faulkner (28 Wickets)

James Faulkner

James Faulkner, the Australian all-rounder, takes the fifth spot. Representing Rajasthan Royals in the 2013 season, he bagged 28 wickets in 16 matches. His bowling average of 15.25 and an economy rate of 6.75 highlight his ability to take wickets while keeping the runs in check. Although he couldn’t clinch the Purple Cap (awarded to the leading wicket-taker), his contribution to Rajasthan Royals’ campaign was undeniable.

Mohammad Shami (28 Wickets)

The 2023 IPL season witnessed the rise of a new champion – Gujarat Titans. Their bowling attack was spearheaded by the lethal pacer Mohammad Shami. Shami, with his express pace, picked up 28 wickets in 16 matches, averaging 17.60 and striking at a rate of 13.28. While Gujarat Titans fell short in the finals against Chennai Super Kings, Shami’s contribution was instrumental in their journey. 

Jasprit Bumrah, Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal (27 Wickets)

Jasprit Bumrah, the Mumbai Indians’ pace spearhead, was at his lethal best in the 2020 season. He played a pivotal role in Mumbai Indians successfully defending their IPL title. Bumrah picked up 27 wickets in 15 matches, averaging a brilliant 14.96 and maintaining a tight economy of 6.73. His ability to swing the new ball and bowl yorkers at the death made him a nightmare for opposing batsmen.

Rashid Khan, the spin sensation bagged 27 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2023, with an average of 18.80 and a strike rate of 14.22. His ability to deceive batsmen with his googly and variations proved to be a nightmare for many.

Yuzvendra Chahal, the wily leg-spinner, proved his mettle in the 2022 season for Rajasthan Royals. With a point to prove after being released by Royal Challengers Bangalore and missing out on India’s T20 World Cup squad, Chahal picked up 27 wickets in 17 matches. His average of 19.51 and economy of 7.75 showcase his consistent wicket-taking abilities. Notably, he even bagged a four-wicket haul and a five-wicket haul during the season, reminding everyone of his exceptional talent.

Dwayne Bravo (26 Wickets)

Dwayne Bravo makes a second appearance on this prestigious list, showcasing his longevity and all-round brilliance. In the 2015 IPL season for CSK, he scalped 26 wickets in 17 matches. His bowling average of 16.38 and an economy rate of 8.14 highlight his ability to contribute even in his later years. Bravo’s strike rate of 12 remains one of the best in IPL history, a testament to his wicket-taking prowess.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26 Wickets)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the Indian swing bowler, showcases his talent at number nine. Playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2017 season, he picked up 26 wickets in just 14 matches. His exceptional bowling average of 14.19 and a miserly economy rate of 7.05 demonstrate his control and accuracy. He even achieved a five-wicket haul during the season, solidifying his reputation as one of the finest bowlers to grace the IPL.

The IPL is a stage where both batsmen and bowlers have the opportunity to shine. These bowlers, through their relentless pursuit of wickets, have etched their names in the history books. From fiery pace attacks to deceptive spin, they possess a diverse range of skills that leave fans awestruck. As the IPL continues, one thing remains certain – the battle between bat and ball will continue to enthrall audiences for years to come.