Javelin Throw Sport – Rules, Equipments and World Records

Javelin Throw

Throwing the javelin as the sport evolved from the everyday use of the spear in hunting and warfare. Javelin Throw Sport was very much practiced in Ancient Greece, also it is incorporated into the Olympic Games in 708 BC as part of the pentathlon. It has been the part of the modern Olympic Games programme since 1908 for men, and 1932 for women. In spite of that today’s javelin is commonly termed a “spear,” the nickname isn’t historically accurate.

Javelin Throw

Rules of Javelin Throw

Rules of Javelin Throw

The arm throws the javelin extended backwards, and it’s thrown over the shoulder or upper part of an arm. If the athlete revolves their back to the throwing line during the throw or crosses the line during or after the throw, the throw classified as the foul.

Javelin Throw World Records

NameCountryDateWorld Record
In FemaleBarbora SpotakovaCzech Republic13-09-200872m 28cm
In MaleJan ŽeleznýCzech Republic25-05-199698m 49cm

Equipment Used for Javelin Throw

Equipment Used for Javelin Throw

Nowadays, the javelin is modernized consists of three main parts: a metalhead, a solid or hollow shaft which can be made of wood but it is generally made of light metal or a composite material, such as carbon fiber and a cord grip.

  • The men’s javelin weighs is at least 800 grams (28.2 pounds) and is between 2.6-2.7 meters long (8 feet, 6¼ inches to 8 feet 10¼ inches).
  • The women’s javelin weighs is at least 600 grams (21.2 ounces) and measures between 2.2-2.3 meters long (7-2½ to 7-6½).

At the international level, both the men’s javelin and women’s javelin was redesigned in 1986 and 1999 respectively.

For safety purposes, it is modified to shorter throws because some men’s throws were coming dangerously close to flying out of the designated landing area.

Throwing Area and Rules of Javelin Throw Sport

javelin throw area

In the javelin throw sport, competitors run forward with the implement, rather than throwing from a circle. It is the only Olympic throwing event in which one has to run. The javelin throw runway is about 30-36.5 meters long (98-5 to 119-9). Throwers can place as much as possible two markers in the runway, which helps them to establish a starting point.

  • Holding the javelin must be done at the grip part and should always be maintained above the shoulder level.
  • For valid throw, the javelin must lie before the specified zone and its tip should hit the ground.
  • There is a special marking line on the runway within which the athlete needs to throw.
  • The athlete should not leave the ground until the javelin lands on the ground.
  • After the throwing action has been made, the thrower should not turn back towards the pointing direction, until it lands.
  • The number of throws allowed per athlete is the same as that of the discus throw.
  • Once the competition has started, the athletes cannot use the perimeter for practise purpose.
  • Using any device that may assist the thrower in throwing is strictly prohibited. For example, the tapping of fingers is not allowed unless there is a wound.
  • The throw will be considered as a foul in the following cases −
    • An improper throw of the javelin in the attempt.
    • Demarking of the line with any body part.
    • Player going out of the marking line while throwing
    • The tip of the javelin lies outside the edges of the landing sector.
  • The time is increased to 1 minute if there are 2-3 number of competitors. In case only one competitor is left, time is increased to 2 minutes.
Top 5 Men’s Javelin throws World Records of all Time

johannes vetter

Jan Železný: He holds the best record for the four javelin throws of all time and his performance is always best throughout his journey was 98.48m, set in 1996. He won the gold medal in the year 1992, 1996 and 2000 Summer Olympic Games and silver in the 1988 Olympics as well as three World Championship titles; in 1993, 1995 and 2001.

Johannes Vetter: He has a great record of throwing 94.44 meters set on 11th July 2017.

Thomas Rohler: He was the German national champion in 2012, 2013 and 2015. At the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, where he again clinched gold with a throw of 90.30m.

Aki Parviainen: He won a gold medal at 1999 World Championship in Athletics and also won silver in 2001 World Championship. His best Olympic placing was 5th in 2000. In the spring of 2006, Parviainen announced his retirement due to injuries.

Julius Yego: In the 2015 World Championship, which took place in Beijing, he won the gold medal by throwing the javelin 92.72 meters.

Also Check :

Leave a Reply