History of Fifa World Cup

History of the Playing Nations in Fifa World Cup

First Fifa World CupImage Source

So far 20 Football World Cup tournaments have occurred, and eight national teams won those. Brazil has won the maximum number of world cups; having won five times, Brazil is also the only team to have played in every tournament. Putting lights into the past of England in FIFA world cup, it did not enter the competition until 1950. However, the three lion’s team but has entered all seventeen tournaments except in 1994 in the USA.

England failed to qualify for the finals on three occasions. It failed in 1974, 1978 and 1994. Croatia defeating England in the semi-final is considered one of the biggest setbacks. In fact, England has failed to advance from the group stages three times, in 1950, 1958 and 2014 FIFA World Cup. England’s best performance is winning the World Cup in 1966, in which it was the host nation as well.

It had ended at fourth place in 1990, held in Italy. England has managed to reach the quarter-finals nine times. Taking a peek into its recent best performances, the team ended at the fourth place in the 2002 world cup hosted by South Korea/Japan; it also reached the quarter-final in 2006 Germany world cup. And, they reached semi-finals at 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Taking a look into England’s world cup winning performance, they defeated West Germany 4–2 after extra time to bag their maiden and the only World Cup so far. However, the satisfactory part about the team is that it has been consistent enough to reach the knockout stages of most of the World Cups they have qualified for. It was the 1990 World Cup when they ended at fourth place.

Interesting trivia about England at the world cup is that they have had maximum goalless draws than any other team. With Croatia and France entering the 2018 FIFA world cup, it becomes the third all-European final in the last four World Cups. It’s the first time for Croatia to reach so far. Through the process, it becomes the 13th nation to reach a World Cup final.

Titles Team Year(s)
5  Brazil 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
4  Italy 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
4  Germany 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
2  Uruguay 1930, 1950
2  Argentina 1978, 1986
2  France 1998, 2018
1  England 1966
1  Spain 2010

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *