Cricket to resume in Bangladesh on Sunday with 3 team 50 over tournament

 Bangladesh  League Board

Cricket will resume in Bangladesh after a gap of six months on Sunday where three teams will take part in a 50 over tournament. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday announced three separate teams for the competition which will feature national cricketers, players from the High-Performance Unit and selected members of the 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup champion squad.

The event is conducted keeping in mind to resume the cricketing activities which has been halted in a cricket-loving nation for more than six months now as the last competitive tournament took place on Bangladeshi soil on March 2020 since then there has been no cricket match held due to COVID-19.

It will definitely provide a practice platform for some players to find their rhythm back in this pandemic time. The three teams have been named after three respective captains –Md Mahmudullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Tamim Iqbal khan.

Every team will play against each other twice and at the end the top two teams will play final on October 23rd 2020. The matches will be held at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on the day-night basis and all the matches will begin at 3:30 pm also if matches didn’t happen on the scheduled day due to unforeseen circumstances there has been a reserve day which has been put in perspective by BCB to conduct those matches.

The First match will be played between Mahmudullah XI and Najmul XI. In order to ensure that the matches are conducted in safe and secure environment all the players, support staff, match officials and relevant personnel including grounds and facilities staff will be placed in a bio-secure bubble for the tournament.

Let’s have a look at the complete squad of all three sides below including their standby players.

Mahmud Ullah XI :Md Mahmud Ullah (Captain), Naim Sheikh, Litton Kumer Das, Mominul Haque, Mahmudul Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shabbir Rahaman, Imrul Kayes, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Rubel Hossain, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury Nipun, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rakibul Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob.

Standby: Abu Haider Rony, Sunzamul Islam, Hasan Murad.

Najmul XI: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Soumya Sarkar, Saif Hasan, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mushfiqur Rahim, Towhid Ridoy, Irfan Sukkur, Pervez Hossain Emon, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammed Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Muqidul Islam Mugdho, Nayeem Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Rishad Hossain.

Standby: Sumon Khan, Shadman Islam, Tanvir Islam.

Tamim XI: Tamim Iqbal Khan (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Md Mithun, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Akbar Ali, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Md Shaif Uddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Sk Mahadi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Minhajul Abedin Afridi.

Stand by: Shafiqul Islam, Mahidul Ankon, Mehedi Hasan Rana.