Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa (CSA) is the governing body for professional and amateur cricket in South Africa. The board was originally created as the United Cricket Board of South Africa in 1991.

During South Africa’s absence from international cricket, a number of different organisations ran domestic cricket: initially the South Africa Cricket Association (SACA), South African Cricket Board of Control (SACBOC) and the South African Cricket Board (SAACB). In 1976 these three organisations agreed to establish one single board to govern South African cricket, and that all future cricket in the country would be played on an integrated basis regardless of race or colour. However, the new board – the South African Cricket Union (SACU) – was not recognised by a small dissenting group in the SACBOC, who set up the South African Cricket Board (SACB).

In June 1991, the South African Cricket Union and the South African Cricket Board merged to form the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCB). The unification ended enforced racial separation, and only a month later, on 10 July 1991, South Africa was re-admitted as a full member of the ICC.


Cricket South Africa: Domestic competitions

South Africa’s three major domestic competitions are the Sunfoil Series (four-day first-class competition), the Momentum One Day Cup (List A one-day competition), and T20 Domestic Cup (domestic Twenty20 competition). CSA Provincial Competitions include a three-day first-class competition, a List A one-day competition, and the T20. Generally encompassing more than one provincial associate team, six first-class teams take part in these competitions. In June 2017, the new South African T20 league franchise called the T20 Global League were set to begin on 16 November 2017. However, the competition was postponed due to lack of sponsorship and logistics problems. The competition was set moving forward to begin at the 2018 season and the league was renamed as Mzansi Super League.


Mzansi Super League: The Mzansi Super League, which began in 2018 as the new premier (T20) tournament in South Africa, is contested by six city-based franchise teams (distinct from the six franchises that compete in the premier first-class and List A tournaments).

  1. Cape Town Blitz (Cape Town)
  2. Durban Heat (Durban)
  3. Jozi Stars (Johannesburg)
  4. Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (Port Elizabeth)
  5. Paarl Rocks (Paarl)
  6. Tshwane Spartans
  7. Africa T20 Cup

The Africa T20 Cup was an additional T20 tournament began in 2015 as a curtain-raiser to the 2015–16 South African domestic season. The tournament has been characterised as “essentially a showcase in cricket development”.The 13 provincial sides and Namibia competed in the tournament, alongside representative sides from countries such as Kenya, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, and Uganda. For the 2018 edition, the number of teams was 20 including two additional provincial sides from Limpopo and Mpumalanga, but this was the last edition of the tournament.


Coaching staff

Director of cricket:  Graeme Smith
Team manager:  Volvo Masubelele
Head coach: Mark Boucher
Assistant coach:  Enoch Nkwe
Batting coach:  Jacques Kallis
Spin bowling coach:  Paul Harris
Fast bowling coach:  Charl Langeveldt
Fielding coach:  Justin Ontong 


South African National Team: The South Africa national cricket team, also known as the Proteas is the national cricket team representing South Africa. They are administrated by Cricket South Africa.

South Africa is a full member of the International Cricket Council with Test, One Day International and Twenty20 International status. South Africa also runs a women’s team.


Cricket South Africa Headquarters: Cricket South Africa’ headquarters is located in Johannerburg, Gauteng, South Africa. Here’s the complete address:

Physical Address: Street number: 86 Street name: 5th Street Location: Corner of 5th Street & Glenhove Street, Melrose Estate Postal Address: PO Box 55009, Northlands, 2116
Phone: +27 11 880 2810
Fax: +27 11 880 6578
Email: [email protected]