Cricketing fans all around the world got divided over the debate surrounding Adam Zampa’s failed attempt to Mankad Tom Rogers during the Melbourne derby at the Big Bash League on Tuesday night. Adam Zampa, who is the captain of Melbourne Stars were facing town rivals Melbourne Renegades and that’s when Zampa tried to Mankad tailender Tom Rogers.
Adam Zampa had his say after the game… 🗣
— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) January 3, 2023
Rogers went far ahead of his crease when Zampa was bowling. The Australian Leggie was quick to notice Rogers creeping out and mid-way through his action, Zampa took the bails off at the non-strikers end. After a lengthy check, Rogers was declared not out and that is when all of the controversy sparked.
Tom Rogers was declared not out by the TV Umpire as it was shown that Zampa had completed a full revolution before deciding to run Rogers out. Zampa stated that he “saw red” when he observed Rogers attempting to take ground. “I was perfectly within my rights to do so,” Zampa explained. “It’s in the rules. It is perfectly legal. As you can see, I simply misjudged my technique, and he was about halfway down the wicket.”
Adam Zampa: saving the world from climate change, one Mankad at a time.
What a dog. https://t.co/H51AHKV1tr
— Real Mark Latham (@RealMarkLatham) January 3, 2023
However, Rogers had the last laugh as he registered career best figures of 5-16. The MCC ruled that the umpires were correct, citing the section of the game’s laws covering “unfair play” as well as the sections regarding run-outs. Was the decision correct?