Cricket Australia announces BBL’s Team of the Tournament




Big Bash League (BBL) is one of the world’s most popular cricket leagues. The level of cricket played in this league is top-notch and a good amount of future Australian stars make their way into the national team after proving themselves in the league. This season has been no different. A lot of players have given such swashbuckling performances in the ongoing tournament that the selectors might be thinking of trying them in upcoming series.

The season is now its business end and Cricket Australia has unveiled the Team of the Tournament after seeing some amazing performances during the group stage.

Marcus Stoinis will be opening the batting for the team and will be accompanied by Matthew Wade at the non-striker’s end. Stoinis, who plays for Melbourne Stars, is the only batsman to score more than 600 runs in the tournament this year. He has accumulated 607 runs in 14 innings at an average of 60. Stoinis also broke the record of scoring the highest individual score (147) in BBL history against Sydney Sixers.

On the other hand, Wade has managed to score 337 runs in this year’s edition with one century and three half-centuries to his name.

At number three, it will be Perth Scorchers’ Josh Inglis who would also keep the gloves for the side. Apart from scoring 405 runs in 14 innings, he also has 9 dismissals to his name. Explosive right-hand batsman Glenn Maxwell comes in at number four after scoring more than 350 runs at a whopping strike-rate of 157.

Jonathan Wells and Mitchell Marsh are the other two all-rounders in the team. Afghan spinner Rashid Khan is the only spinner in the team. Rashid has taken 18 wickets in the tournament and has a hat-trick to his name too.

Fast bowlers Daniel Sams, Peter Siddle, and Nathan Ellis will spearhead the pace department of the side. Sams is the highest wicket-taker in the tournament so far. With 25 wickets to his name, he currently leads the pack of bowlers. Siddle has 17 wickets to his name and is on the fourth spot in the list of highest wicket-takers.

Haris Rauf has also cut into the team and is the 11th player of the side. He has taken 16 wickets in just 7 games he has played for his team and is only one of the three bowlers to take a 5 wicket haul in the ongoing tournament.

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – JANUARY 02: Haris Rauf of the Stars celebrates taking the wicket of Callum Ferguson of the Thunder during the Big Bash League match between the Sydney Thunder and the Melbourne Stars at Sydney Showground on January 02, 2020, in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Jason McCawley/Getty Images)

Here’s the best BBL team:

Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars), Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes), Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers), Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars), Jonathan Wells (Adelaide Strikers), Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers), Rashid Khan (Adelaide Strikers), Daniel Sams (Sydney Sixers), Peter Siddle (Adelaide Strikers), Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes), and Haris Rauf (Melbourne Stars).