Cricket Australia (CA)


Cricket Australia (CA)

Cricket Australia governs the professional and amateur cricket in Australia. It was previously called as Australian Cricket Board (ACB). Originally formed in 1905 as the ‘Australian Board of Control for International Cricket’, the governing body changed its name to Cricket Australia in 2003. 

Cricket Australia is responsible for opening all the cricket Australian national representative cricket sides, including the Men’s, the Women’s and Youth sides. Add to that, Cricket Australia is also responsible for organising and hosting Test tours and one-day internationals with other nations. Besides, it schedules the home international fixtures as well. 

Cricket Australia: Member Organisations

It is important to know that Cricket Australia consist of six member organisations. These members also represent each of the Australian states. Following are these six member organisations:

  1. New South Wales – Cricket NSW
  2. Queensland – Queensland Cricket
  3. South Australia – South Australian Cricket Association
  4. Tasmania – Tasmanian Cricket Association
  5. Victoria – Cricket Victoria
  6. Western Australia – Western Australian Cricket Association


Who Governs Cricket Australia?

Eight independent directors work together in governing Cricket Australia. The chief executive officer reports to the board of directors.


How has the name changed over the years?

Since its inception, Cricket Australia had different names. It was named as the Australian Board of Control for 

International Cricket between 1905 and 1973, before changing its name to Australian Cricket Board in 1973. In 2003, the governing body changed its name to Cricket Australia.

  • Australian Board of Control for International Cricket (1905–1973)
  • Australian Cricket Board (1973–2003)
  • Cricket Australia (2003–present)


Competitions organised by Cricket Australia: 

Cricket Australia is responsible for organizing fixtures of the Australian national team, besides organises domestic inter-state cricket in Australia, including the three premier competitions in each of the major forms of the game. 

Following are the competitions that Cricket Australia organizes: 

  1. Sheffield Shield
  2. Marsh One-Day Cup
  3. Big Bash League
  4. Futures League (Second XI)
  5. Women’s National Cricket League
  6. Women’s Big Bash League


Honours and Awards:

Cricket Australia presents awards to its players for various categories: 

  • Male: Test Player of the Year, One-Day Player of the Year, Bradman Young Player of the Year, Domestic Player of the Year, and the Allan Border Medal for the overall best Australian men’s cricketer of the year.
  • Female: the Belinda Clark Award for the best Australian women’s cricketer of the year, the Betty Wilson Young Player of the Year, and the Domestic Player of the Year


National Selection Panel of Cricket Australia:

The National Selections Panel is responsible for selecting the teams for each of the Australia National Side and for every format.  Trevor Hohns is currently the chairman of the selection panel, which also comprises of Justin Langer (head coach) and George Bailey. 


Board of Directors:

In a bid to work for the national interest of Cricket Australia, as many as nine independent directors work collectively to form the board of directors. 

Here’s the list of current eight board members: 

  1. Earl Eddings (chairman)
  2. Paul Green
  3. John Harnden AM
  4. Dr Lachlan Henderson
  5. Jacquie Hey
  6. Michelle Tredenick
  7. Richard Freudenstein
  8. Mel Jones OAM